VDW Maximiser Review: Update Three

VDW Maximiser Review

We have continued using the same methods as last month in our VDW Maximiser review and it is working out well with another profitable month. We have managed to make a total profit of 7.95 points at an ROI of 13.5% over the past two months. 

We have tried to be as selective as we can with our chosen bets and have researched each one by cross-referencing with the Racing Post and Timeform. Although the amount of profit we've made so far isn't exactly mindblowing, we're pleased to have made a gradual increase to our bank by adding in some lower risk bets in place markets.


Key Stats - Update Three
Number of Bets33
Total Stakes (pts)34.00
Profit/Loss (pts)2.73
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£27.30
Strike Rate36.40%
ROI8.0%
Bank Growth8.0%
Bank (100pt starting)107.95

All results include a deduction of 5% Betfair commission.


Results - Update Three
DateCourseTimeHorseStakeOddsP/LBank
23/04/2018Windsor18:20Zoraya e/w2.009.20-2.00103.22
24/04/2018Huntingdon18:55Ratify Win1.004.602.64105.86
24/04/2018Huntingdon18:55Ratify 2 TBP1.002.501.11106.97
24/04/2018Punchestown17:30Un De Sceaux Win0.509.003.68110.65
24/04/2018Punchestown17:30Un De Sceaux TBP1.002.120.87111.52
24/04/2018Punchestown17:30Min0.504.20-0.50111.02
24/04/2018Punchestown18:40Shattered Love TBP0.502.24-0.50110.52
24/04/2018Punchestown18:40Finian's Oscar TBP0.503.35-0.50110.02
25/04/2018Punchestown16:55Kilbricken Storm TBP1.001.950.90110.92
26/04/2018Warwick15:55Cresswell Legend e/w2.005.50-2.00108.92
27/04/2018Sandown15:35Here Comes When Win0.506.20-0.50108.42
27/04/2018Sandown15:35Here Comes When TBP1.001.90-1.00107.42
28/04/2018Punchestown16:25Farclas 2 TBP1.002.06-1.00106.42
30/04/2018Southwell17:50Mr Buttons1.002.22-1.00105.42
30/04/2018Thirsk17:05Lord Caprio TBP1.002.16-1.00104.42
01/05/2018Kempton19:15Arod1.003.30-1.00103.42
04/05/2018Chepstow14:30Coeur Blimey1.002.841.75105.17
04/05/2018Cork17:20Motown Girl Win0.507.60-0.50104.67
04/05/2018Cork17:20Motown Girl TBP1.001.780.74105.41
06/05/2018Newmarket15:35Laurens e/w2.0010.001.09106.50
09/05/2018Chester15:35Family Tree Win0.5019.00-0.50106.00
09/05/2018Chester15:35Family Tree 4 TBP0.503.30-0.50105.50
12/05/2018Ascot16:00Zhui Feng 5 TBP1.005.804.56110.06
12/05/2018Ascot16:00Zhui Feng Win0.5038.00-0.50109.56
12/05/2018Nottingham15:50Clon Coulis Win0.508.00-0.50109.06
12/05/2018Nottingham15:50Clon Coulis TBP1.002.32-1.00108.06
16/05/2018Yarmouth14:10Nearest Green e/w2.004.20-2.00106.06
17/05/2018York15:30Wells Farhh Go e/w2.008.00-2.00104.06
17/05/2018Salisbury14:40Fayrouz Rose e/w2.004.10-2.00102.06
17/05/2018Newmarket20:35Outside Inside TBP1.002.48-1.00101.06
17/05/2018York14:55Coronet1.004.203.04104.10
18/05/2018Newbury16:45Kings Proctor 2 TBP1.002.821.70105.80
20/05/2018Market Rasen16:20Monbeg Charmer TBP1.003.152.15107.95

We feel confident that there is money to be made from this software based on our experience so far, but we are going to continue testing it for a further month so that we have a full three months worth of results using our revised strategy.


VDW Maximiser Review: Update Two

22nd April 2018

During the first month of our VDW Maximiser review, we had started by testing out the strategies from the video guides and it hadn't gone so well. The vendor explained that they were really more of a starting point to learn how the software works, so we decided to change our tack for month two.

Instead of following any particular strategy we have been using the software to narrow races down, only looking at the most profitable races each day and have been a lot more selective.

Once we had a shortlist of promising horses, we cross-referenced them against the Racing Post and Timeform analysis before making a final decision on whether they would make a good bet.

This has been working out much better for us and we have finished the month with a profit of 5.22 points at an ROI of 20.9%. We did actually build up to a high of 13.36 points but unfortunately there was a losing run towards the end of the month that set us back.


Key Stats - Update Two
Number of Bets22
Total Stakes (pts)25.00
Profit/Loss (pts)5.22
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£52.20
Strike Rate54.5%
ROI20.9%
Bank Growth5.2%
Bank (100pt starting)105.22

Note: We have started with a fresh bank of 100 points to separate our results from using the strategies vs our new method.


Results - Update Two
DateCourseTimeHorseTotal StakeOddsP/LBank
22/03/2018Cork14:35Lieutenant Colonel1.002.752.75102.75
23/03/2018Kempton20:15Native Fighter 2 TBP1.002.061.01103.76
23/03/2018Newbury15:40Ice Cool Champs TBP1.002.52-1.00102.76
24/03/2018Doncaster15:35Lord Glitters e/w1.006.400.09102.85
24/03/2018Newbury14:40Ulysses1.002.60-1.00101.85
28/03/2018Newcastle20:15Lord Caprio TBP1.001.800.76102.61
03/04/2018Lingfield14:20Gold Filigree e/w2.009.201.00103.61
04/04/2018Lingfield15:15Kalagia/Kaths Lustre1.003.972.97106.58
05/04/2018Wolverhampton16:50Volevo Lui 3 TBP1.002.381.31107.89
06/04/2018Lingfield15:55Zac Brown Win0.504.50-0.50107.39
06/04/2018Lingfield15:55Zac Brown TBP1.002.261.20108.59
11/04/2018Dundalk20:00Hyperlapse TBP1.002.10-1.00107.59
12/04/2018Taunton16:30Risk And Roll Win0.506.602.66110.25
12/04/2018Taunton16:30Risk And Roll TBP1.003.051.95112.19
13/04/2018Naas15:50Capri with Yucatan saver1.002.761.17113.36
13/04/2018Ballinrobe18:30Kilcarry Bridge TBP1.003.80-1.00112.36
18/04/2018Dundalk19:30Andesh e/w2.006.20-2.00110.36
18/04/2018Newmarket15:00Deauville TBP1.001.910.86111.22
18/04/2018Newmarket15:35Threading e/w2.005.60-2.00109.22
19/04/2018Newmarket15:00Le Brivido1.002.92-1.00108.22
19/04/2018Ripon17:10Book of Dreams1.003.70-1.00107.22
19/04/2018Newcastle18:40Lumi e/w2.005.60-2.00105.22

The software is proving to be very useful in narrowing down races. We will continue using the same method for another month and will report back with how we get on.


VDW Maximiser Review: Update One

22nd March 2018

We've been testing the VDW Maximiser software for a month now and things haven't really been going to plan. We have lost 15 points so far from a total of 65 races, with 27 of them returning a profit. 

We have used all five strategies, but the results below exclude strategy 4 which uses a separate bank and staking system. Here is a breakdown of the profit/loss for each strategy:

  • Strategy 1: +2.02pts 
  • Strategy 2: -2.11pts
  • Strategy 3 : -7.82pts
  • Strategy 5: -7.09pts

There have only been 4 selections for strategy 4 this month and it has made a loss of 2.89 points so far.


Key Stats - Update One
Number of Bets65
Total Stakes (pts)66.00
Profit/Loss (pts)-15.00
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)-£150.00
Strike Rate41.5%
ROI-22.7%
Bank Growth-15.0%
Bank (100pt starting)85.00

Results - Update One
DateCourseTimeStrategyStakeP/LBank
13/02/2018Southwell14:5521.000.96100.96
13/02/2018Southwell15:2531.000.95101.92
14/02/2018Wolverhampton18:4521.00-1.00100.92
14/02/2018Fairyhouse15:5531.000.00100.92
14/02/2018Fairyhouse15:2531.000.45101.36
15/02/2018Fontwell16:2021.00-1.00100.36
15/02/2018Chelmsford18:3031.00-1.0099.36
15/02/2018Chelmsford19:3031.00-1.0098.36
22/02/2018Southwell16:5521.000.6198.97
22/02/2018Chelmsford20:0031.00-1.0097.97
22/02/2018Huntingdon16:4031.000.3998.36
23/02/2018Dundalk19:0021.000.2498.60
23/02/2018Exeter16:5021.00-1.0097.60
23/02/2018Lingfield15:5021.00-1.0096.60
23/02/2018Wolverhampton19:4521.00-1.0095.60
23/02/2018Warwick15:0031.00-1.0094.60
23/02/2018Warwick15:3031.00-1.0093.60
24/02/2018Kempton15:3511.00-1.0092.60
24/02/2018Newcastle14:1011.000.8393.42
24/02/2018Chepstow15:4021.00-1.0092.42
26/02/2018Wolverhampton20:1511.00-1.0091.42
26/02/2018Plumpton14:3051.00-1.0090.42
26/02/2018Ayr16:2052.00-2.0088.42
03/03/2018Lingfield14:5511.002.1990.61
03/03/2018Lingfield15:3011.00-1.0089.61
03/03/2018Newcastle17:3051.00-1.0088.61
05/03/2018Lingfield15:4511.00-1.0087.61
06/03/2018Southwell14:2031.000.5488.15
07/03/2018Kempton19:1011.000.1388.28
08/03/2018Newcastle19:1531.00-1.0087.28
08/03/2018Newcastle20:1531.00-1.0086.28
09/03/2018Leopardstown14:2521.000.9687.23
09/03/2018Leopardstown15:3021.00-1.0086.23
10/03/2018Chelmsford19:4511.001.3587.58
10/03/2018Sandown13:5011.00-1.0086.58
10/03/2018Wolverhampton14:0511.004.7391.31
10/03/2018Wolverhampton15:1511.000.8192.12
10/03/2018Sandown14:2521.00-1.0091.12
10/03/2018Ayr16:3051.000.9192.03
10/03/2018Ayr17:0531.00-1.0091.03
10/03/2018Hereford14:1531.000.4191.45
10/03/2018Hereford15:2531.00-1.0090.45
11/03/2018Warwick15:5521.001.1191.55
11/03/2018Market Rasen15:0551.00-1.0090.55
12/03/2018Taunton16:1021.001.2591.80
12/03/2018Chelmsford18:4531.00-1.0090.80
12/03/2018Plumpton15:2031.00-1.0089.80
13/03/2018Cheltenham14:1051.000.0089.80
13/03/2018Southwell15:0521.00-1.0088.80
14/03/2018Cheltenham15:3011.00-1.0087.80
14/03/2018Cheltenham14:1031.000.6488.44
14/03/2018Cheltenham17:3051.00-1.0087.44
14/03/2018Southwell15:1521.000.6988.13
15/03/2018Cheltenham15:3051.00-1.0087.13
15/03/2018Cheltenham14:5011.00-1.0086.13
15/03/2018Chelmsford19:0021.000.5986.72
15/03/2018Chelmsford20:3021.000.9587.67
15/03/2018Towcester13:5531.000.8088.47
15/03/2018Towcester14:3531.00-1.0087.47
16/03/2018Cheltenham14:5021.00-1.0086.47
16/03/2018Cheltenham15:3021.000.6787.14
16/03/2018Fakenham15:5551.00-1.0086.14
17/03/2018Uttoxeter14:2511.00-1.0085.14
17/03/2018Kempton14:4021.000.8686.00
17/03/2018Kempton15:1521.00-1.0085.00

Blindly following the strategies hasn't gone so well for us so far, so we decided to ask for some advice from the vendor.

They wrote back with quite a comprehensive reply, but the gist of it is the strategies were designed to help users learn to use the software and perhaps come up with their own angles. Although the software helps to narrow the field down to find the best horses, it's beneficial to use other sites, such as the Racing Post, alongside it to narrow selections down further.

So, the plan over the next month is to run some extra checks using some of the free resources around and be a bit more selective. We are also considering scrapping the dutching strategies (2 & 3) as we feel these races are bit trickier to analyse.


VDW Maximiser Review: Introduction

15th February 2018

The Van Der Wheil (VDW) method is a horse ratings system that originated in the 1980s and it works by scoring each horse based on its form, ability or class. The idea is that there are more factors to consider than simply backing horses based on their form alone, as they can still be beaten by those of a higher ability or class.

The VDW method focuses on the top five horses in the betting line-up, as statistically this is where 83% of winners are claimed to come from.

The strategy in it's original form was to rate each horse by their ability in the two most valuable races on the card, then back the horses with the most consistent form in the top five of the betting market.

The VDW Maximiser software uses the same principles but has been "turbo-charged", claiming to make the method more profitable than ever.

VDW Maximiser Review Interface

The software rates every horse in every race each day by VDW form and ability and also works out a custom VDW score.

The software interface is quite simple but underneath there are some powerful calculations being carried out. The sales page breaks it down into five steps:

  • The software compares the races you are looking at with all previous similar races and checks how VDW performed then.
  • It scores the ratings in these races based on their performance and combines it with the current odds of the horses.
  • It then determines how suitable the VDW ratings are for the race.
  • minus
    It calculates the VDW form, ability and score for each horse in the race and also updates regularly with the live odds taken from Betfair.
  • minus
     You can then assess whether the bet looks good or to move on to the next race.
VDW Maximiser Review Scores


It comes with five strategies that make use of various features, such as the VDW scores and the horses marked in green as you can see above. These are explained in details in video guides that walk you through the filters you need to look at and the best way to maximise profits. 

We have only checked out three of them so far and two of them involve dutching several horses, which is great if you prefer a low risk style of betting.

We are pleased to see that we don't need to use any bookies with this software as all bets can be placed at Betfair or another exchange as long as there is enough liquidity.

Access to the software is priced at £19.99 +VAT for the first 60 days and then £24.99 +VAT per month thereafter.

We have begun testing the first three strategies with 4/5 wins so far and we will be adding in strategies 4 + 5 once we have got more of a feel for how it works.

We will report back in a month's time with our first set of results.

Leave a Response