First Class Racing Review: Class 1 Horse Racing Tips

First Class Racing Review

First Class Racing achieved a 33.9% bank growth during their proofing, earning a spot amongst BetChat's team of pro tipsters.

The service is aimed at "small bank bettors", so you only need a 20 point bank to get started, rather than the 100 point plus banks that tipsters usually recommend.

It is run by tipster Mel Gee, who has been involved in the betting industry since he was 15 years old and claims to be able to "read a horse's form like a librarian can read the alphabet!".

His selective strategy means that there are no long losing streaks and a high strike rate, meaning bigger profits for smaller betting banks.

He bets exclusively on Class 1 races, finding the best of the best horses to bet on in with their ideal conditions. So, along with the horse showing good form, everything else has to match up perfect too, from the racecourse to the jockey, trainer and even the weather.

It does mean that there aren't bets every day, as it's very much a quality over quantity type of service.

All bets are sent out via the Telegram app, with one channel for tips only and a community channel so that you can chat with other members and Mel himself.

So far, all of BetChat's services have earned a pass from us (read the reviews here, here and here!), so we hoped First Class Racing would follow in their footsteps.

We followed the service over a period of six months and were delighted to be able to give it a first class pass rating! 

Review Stats+7.47pts profit, 18.7% ROI, 58.1% SR
Stakes Advised between 0.5 – 1.5 points
Starting bank 20 points
Average no. betsApprox. 7 per month
Time of emailsVia Telegram messenger, various times
Price£129.97 per quarter or £399.97 per year
RatingPass

Month One Update

It was an interesting start to our First Class Racing review as there were just 5 bets for the month due to the selective nature of the service. We recorded a small profit of 0.35 points, which based on the advised 20 point bank worked out as a 1.8% increase.

Mel is extremely disciplined with his tips and doesn't just recommend a bet for the sake of it.

He explained more about this in one of the tipping messages received earlier in the month: 

"It's been a busy week with a lot of top class races to consider.

I find it quite easy, normally, to identify a horse that I consider better than the rest and ought to go very close to winning or placing to make profit or at least reduce a loss.

This week, that "special" bet has not identified itself.

I could easily place bets this weekend on horses I consider have very good chances but, long term, some will win and many will lose thus taking away any profits. Unless, of course, I get lucky! I am in the business of making solid bets that bring a return and a win % of over 50% confirms this.
"

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets555
Total Stakes (pts)5.05.05.0
Profit/Loss (pts)0.350.350.29
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£17.50£17.50£14.50
Strike Rate60.0%60.0%60.0%
ROI7.0%7.0%5.8%
Overall Bank Growth1.8%1.8%1.5%
Bank (20pt starting)20.3520.3520.29

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/01/2022Warwick 1.50Threeunderthrufive1.001.620.6220.62
29/01/2022Doncaster 1.35Third Time Lucki1.001.730.7321.35
29/01/2022Cheltenham 3.05Champ1.001.50-1.0020.35
12/02/2022Warwick 2.05Edwardstone1.002.001.0021.35
12/02/2022Newbury 2.25Clan Des Obeaux1.002.38-1.0020.35

Month Two Update

It was a quiet month again for First Class Racing with just 2 bets between 15th Feb - 14th March. One lost and one won to give a profit of 1.25 points.

Cheltenham festival started the day after our results for the second month and day one was an excellent start, but unfortunately we had to wait until our next update to report those results.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets222
Total Stakes (pts)2.002.002.00
Profit/Loss (pts)1.251.252.23
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£62.50£62.50£111.50
Strike Rate50.0%50.0%50.0%
ROI62.5%62.5%111.5%
Overall Bank Growth8.0%8.0%12.6%
Bank (20pt starting)21.6021.6022.52

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
19/02/2022Haydock 2.05Thomas Darby1.004.50-1.0019.35
26/02/2022Kempton 2.25Pic D'Orhy1.003.252.2521.60

Month Three Update

First Class Racing had a much busier time in month three of our review with two major racing festivals, Cheltenham and Aintree, happening in close proximity.

That being said, the tipster was still selective with his bets with a total of 18 tips for the month, netting a profit of 2.86 points.

With this service, the starting bank is just 20 points so we set stakes at £50 per point. After three months we had steadily made a total of £223 profit at an ROI of 18.2%.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets181818
Total Stakes (pts)17.517.517.5
Profit/Loss (pts)2.862.864.17
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£143.00£143.00£208.50
Strike Rate61.1%61.1%61.1%
ROI16.3%16.3%23.8%
Overall Bank Growth22.3%22.3%33.5%
Bank (20pt starting)24.4624.4626.69

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Constitution Hill1.003.502.5024.10
15/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Constitution Hill (Place)1.50BSP0.3524.45
15/03/2022Cheltenham 2.10Edwardstone0.503.751.3825.83
15/03/2022Cheltenham 2.10Edwardstone (Place)1.00BSP0.3526.18
15/03/2022Cheltenham 3.30Honeysuckle1.001.800.8026.98
16/03/2022Cheltenham 3.30Shishkin1.001.91-1.0025.98
17/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Galopin Des Champs0.501.91-0.5025.48
17/03/2022Cheltenham 2.50Allaho1.001.670.6726.15
18/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Vauban1.002.881.8828.03
18/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Vauban (Place)1.50BSP0.3928.42
26/03/2022Kempton 2.05Fancy Man1.00-1.0027.42
26/03/2022Kempton 2.05Fancy Man (Place)1.50BSP-1.5025.92
02/04/2022Ayr 3.00Minella Drama1.003.25-1.0024.92
08/04/2022Aintree 3.30Fakir D'Oudairies0.500.6325.54
08/04/2022Aintree 3.30Fakir D'Oudairies (Place)1.00BSP0.2225.76
09/04/2022Aintree 3.00Edwardstone1.001.57-1.0024.76
09/04/2022Aintree 3.35Flooring Porter0.502.63-0.5024.26
09/04/2022Aintree 3.35Flooring Porter (Place)1.00BSP0.2024.46

Month Four Update

Although there were some top class races, there weren't many betting opportunities in month four of our First Class Racing review. As always, Mel had been very selective with his picks and there were just five that fit his criteria.

We finished the month almost even with 0.11 points profit at the advised odds.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets555
Total Stakes (pts)4.54.54.5
Profit/Loss (pts)0.110.110.12
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£5.50£5.50£6.00
Strike Rate60.0%60.0%60.0%
ROI2.3%2.3%2.7%
Overall Bank Growth22.8%22.8%34.1%
Bank (20pt starting)24.5624.5626.81

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
26/04/2022Punchestown 4.15Sir Gerhard1.001.73-1.0023.46
26/04/2022Punchestown 5.25Energumene1.001.730.7324.19
27/04/2022Punchestown 5.20The Nice Guy0.503.251.1325.31
27/04/2022Punchestown 5.20The Nice Guy (Place)1.00BSP0.2525.56
30/04/2022Punchestown 3.50Epatante1.001.83-1.0024.56

Month Five Update

It was the fifth winning month in a row for our First Class Racing review, bringing our total profit up to 5.29 points. That works out as a 26.5% increase to our starting bank of 20 points.

With the results from Royal Ascot to come, we decided to continue our review for another month to make it a total of six months.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets666
Total Stakes (pts)5.05.05.0
Profit/Loss (pts)0.730.731.9
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£36.50£36.50£95.00
Strike Rate50.0%50.0%50.0%
ROI14.6%14.6%38.0%
Overall Bank Growth26.5%26.5%43.6%
Bank (20pt starting)25.2925.2928.71

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/05/2022Longchamp 2.15Catchet (Each-way)1.003.75-0.2224.34
21/05/2022Curragh 2.45A Case Of You0.503.25-0.5023.84
21/05/2022Curragh 2.45A Case Of You (Place)1.00BSP0.3524.19
05/06/2022Chantilly 3.00Modern Games0.503.50-0.5023.69
05/06/2022Chantilly 3.00Modern Games (Place)1.00BSP0.8724.56
14/06/2022Royal Ascot 4.20Coroebus1.001.730.7325.29

Month Six Update

There was yet another winning month for First Class Racing, making it six months in a row and a fantastic conclusion to our review. There were just 7 bets in total but 4 of them won, adding 2.18 points profit to the pot.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets777
Total Stakes (pts)6.06.06.0
Profit/Loss (pts)2.182.182.27
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£109.00£109.00£113.50
Strike Rate57.1%57.1%57.1%
ROI36.3%36.3%37.8%
Overall Bank Growth37.4%37.4%54.9%
Bank (20pt starting)27.4727.4730.98

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
17/06/2022Royal Ascot 2.30Meditate0.505.002.0027.29
17/06/2022Royal Ascot 2.30Meditate (Place)1.00BSP0.8428.13
17/06/2022Limerick 7.25Raise You0.502.10-0.5027.63
02/07/2022Sandown 3.35Vadeni0.503.001.0028.63
02/07/2022Sandown 3.35Vadeni (Place)1.00BSP1.3429.97
09/07/2022Newmarket 4.25Perfect Power1.003.75-1.0028.97
09/07/2022Newmarket 4.25Perfect Power (Place)1.50BSP-1.5027.47

Review Summary

  • Specifically covers Class 1 races only
  • Selective approach with low volume of bets
  • Telegram messenger app required 

First Class Racing is different to any horse racing tips service that we have reviewed before, as the tipster takes an extremely selective approach to ensure consistent profits are made.

Only Class 1 races are covered by the service, so you are only betting on the best races in the UK and Ireland.

This meant that during our six month review, there were just 43 bets but there was a profit made in every single month.

Being able to achieve results like this means that tipster Mel Gee can operate the service with a small betting bank of 20 points. For example, if you have £1,000 bank, your 1 point stake would be £50. 

During our review, we made 7.47 points profit at an ROI of 18.7%, which works out as £373.50 based on £50 stakes. That is a 37.4% increase to our starting bank.

The service performed even better at Betfair SP, with 10.98 points profit at an ROI of 27.5%. Perfect for those that have been limited at the bookies.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets434343
Total Stakes (pts)40.040.040.0
Profit/Loss (pts)7.477.4710.98
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£373.50£373.50£549.00
Strike Rate58.1%58.1%58.1%
ROI18.7%18.7%27.5%
Overall Bank Growth37.4%37.4%54.9%
Bank (20pt starting)27.4727.4730.98

If you are looking for a bet every day, then this certainly wouldn't be the tips service for you.

However, if you are looking for tips that you can rely on, that have been thoroughly researched so you can have the upmost confidence in them, then look no further.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Geegeez Gold Review

Geegeez Gold Review: Racecard and Horse Racing Form Tools

Matt Bisogno and his team believe that horse racing punters deserve so much more. Introducing Geegeez Gold, a revolutionary collection of racecard and form tools.

Read More
Bets For Today VIP Review

Bets For Today VIP Review: Betting Tips Package

Bets For Today VIP turned out to be a profitable set of betting systems, making 30.16 points profit during our three month review at an ROI of 9.3%. It gets a pass from us!

Read More
The Judge Review

The Judge Review: Profitable Greyhound Betting Tipster

Greyhound racing tipster ‘The Judge’ boasts impressive long-term results. During our three month review, we banked 79.56 points profit at 11.2% ROI.

Read More
L7N Longshots Review

L7N Longshots Review: High Odds Betting Tips

We reviewed L7N Longshots each way horse tipping service for three months and they gave us a great profit of £1014.70, which was an average of £338 per month using £10 stakes. At an ROI of 25.3%, we awarded them with an easy pass rating.

Read More
Caan Berry Video Pack Course Review

Caan Berry Video Pack Course Review: Horse Racing Trading

Our review of Professional Betfair trader Caan Berry’s video pack course, complete with strategies and techniques to trade Betfair horse racing markets.

Read More
Little Acorns Gold Review

Little Acorns Gold Review: Horse Racing Lay Betting System

Little Acorns Gold is horse laying system, with all bets sent out to you daily. We made consistent profits during our eight month review and awarded a pass!

Read More
Soccer Stats Bot Review

Soccer Stats Bot Review: Betfair Football Betting Software

The Soccer Stats Bot places back and lay bets on Betfair based on your own customisable filters, allowing you to easily automate football betting systems.

Read More
Russell Blair Racing review

Russell Blair Racing Review: Horse Racing Betting Tipster

Russell Blair Racing is a horse tipster who sends out high odds selections each evening. We followed the tips for three months and banked 70.5 points profit.

Read More
Merlin Results Radar Review

Merlin Results Radar Review: Treble Betting System

In our Merlin Results Radar review we were able to make a profit of 47.82 points from 12 sets of trebles, making it a “pass” for this excel based betting system.

Read More

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 4.5 stars

  • First Class Racing
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 2nd September 2022

First Class Racing achieved a 37.4% bank growth during our proofing, using a selective approach and betting on the best of the best Class 1 horse races.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.