First Class Racing Review: Class 1 Horse Racing Tips

First Class Racing achieved a 33.9% bank growth during their proofing, earning a spot amongst BetChat's team of pro tipsters.

The service is aimed at "small bank bettors", so you only need a 20 point bank to get started, rather than the 100 point plus banks that tipsters usually recommend.

It is run by tipster Mel Gee, who has been involved in the betting industry since he was 15 years old and claims to be able to "read a horse's form like a librarian can read the alphabet!".

His selective strategy means that there are no long losing streaks and a high strike rate, meaning bigger profits for smaller betting banks.

He bets exclusively on Class 1 races, finding the best of the best horses to bet on in with their ideal conditions. So, along with the horse showing good form, everything else has to match up perfect too, from the racecourse to the jockey, trainer and even the weather.

It does mean that there aren't bets every day, as it's very much a quality over quantity type of service.

All bets are sent out via the Telegram app, with one channel for tips only and a community channel so that you can chat with other members and Mel himself.

So far, all of BetChat's services have earned a pass from us (read the reviews here, here and here!), so we hoped First Class Racing would follow in their footsteps.

We were able to increase our bank by 37.4% after following the service over a period of six months. We were delighted to be able to give it a first class pass rating! 

Review Stats+7.47pts profit, 18.7% ROI, 58.1% SR
Stakes Advised between 0.5 – 1.5 points
Starting bank 20 points
Average no. betsApprox. 7 per month
Time of emailsVia Telegram messenger, various times
Price£129.97 per quarter or £399.97 per year
RatingPass

Month One Update

It was an interesting start to our First Class Racing review as there were just 5 bets for the month due to the selective nature of the service. We recorded a small profit of 0.35 points, which based on the advised 20 point bank worked out as a 1.8% increase.

Mel is extremely disciplined with his tips and doesn't just recommend a bet for the sake of it.

He explained more about this in one of the tipping messages received earlier in the month: 

"It's been a busy week with a lot of top class races to consider.

I find it quite easy, normally, to identify a horse that I consider better than the rest and ought to go very close to winning or placing to make profit or at least reduce a loss.

This week, that "special" bet has not identified itself.

I could easily place bets this weekend on horses I consider have very good chances but, long term, some will win and many will lose thus taking away any profits. Unless, of course, I get lucky! I am in the business of making solid bets that bring a return and a win % of over 50% confirms this.
"

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets555
Total Stakes (pts)5.05.05.0
Profit/Loss (pts)0.350.350.29
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£17.50£17.50£14.50
Strike Rate60.0%60.0%60.0%
ROI7.0%7.0%5.8%
Overall Bank Growth1.8%1.8%1.5%
Bank (20pt starting)20.3520.3520.29

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/01/2022Warwick 1.50Threeunderthrufive1.001.620.6220.62
29/01/2022Doncaster 1.35Third Time Lucki1.001.730.7321.35
29/01/2022Cheltenham 3.05Champ1.001.50-1.0020.35
12/02/2022Warwick 2.05Edwardstone1.002.001.0021.35
12/02/2022Newbury 2.25Clan Des Obeaux1.002.38-1.0020.35

Month Two Update

It was a quiet month again for First Class Racing with just 2 bets between 15th Feb - 14th March. One lost and one won to give a profit of 1.25 points.

Cheltenham festival started the day after our results for the second month and day one was an excellent start, but unfortunately we had to wait until our next update to report those results.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets222
Total Stakes (pts)2.002.002.00
Profit/Loss (pts)1.251.252.23
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£62.50£62.50£111.50
Strike Rate50.0%50.0%50.0%
ROI62.5%62.5%111.5%
Overall Bank Growth8.0%8.0%12.6%
Bank (20pt starting)21.6021.6022.52

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
19/02/2022Haydock 2.05Thomas Darby1.004.50-1.0019.35
26/02/2022Kempton 2.25Pic D'Orhy1.003.252.2521.60

Month Three Update

First Class Racing had a much busier time in month three of our review with two major racing festivals, Cheltenham and Aintree, happening in close proximity.

That being said, the tipster was still selective with his bets with a total of 18 tips for the month, netting a profit of 2.86 points.

With this service, the starting bank is just 20 points so we set stakes at £50 per point. After three months we had steadily made a total of £223 profit at an ROI of 18.2%.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets181818
Total Stakes (pts)17.517.517.5
Profit/Loss (pts)2.862.864.17
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£143.00£143.00£208.50
Strike Rate61.1%61.1%61.1%
ROI16.3%16.3%23.8%
Overall Bank Growth22.3%22.3%33.5%
Bank (20pt starting)24.4624.4626.69

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Constitution Hill1.003.502.5024.10
15/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Constitution Hill (Place)1.50BSP0.3524.45
15/03/2022Cheltenham 2.10Edwardstone0.503.751.3825.83
15/03/2022Cheltenham 2.10Edwardstone (Place)1.00BSP0.3526.18
15/03/2022Cheltenham 3.30Honeysuckle1.001.800.8026.98
16/03/2022Cheltenham 3.30Shishkin1.001.91-1.0025.98
17/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Galopin Des Champs0.501.91-0.5025.48
17/03/2022Cheltenham 2.50Allaho1.001.670.6726.15
18/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Vauban1.002.881.8828.03
18/03/2022Cheltenham 1.30Vauban (Place)1.50BSP0.3928.42
26/03/2022Kempton 2.05Fancy Man1.00-1.0027.42
26/03/2022Kempton 2.05Fancy Man (Place)1.50BSP-1.5025.92
02/04/2022Ayr 3.00Minella Drama1.003.25-1.0024.92
08/04/2022Aintree 3.30Fakir D'Oudairies0.500.6325.54
08/04/2022Aintree 3.30Fakir D'Oudairies (Place)1.00BSP0.2225.76
09/04/2022Aintree 3.00Edwardstone1.001.57-1.0024.76
09/04/2022Aintree 3.35Flooring Porter0.502.63-0.5024.26
09/04/2022Aintree 3.35Flooring Porter (Place)1.00BSP0.2024.46

Month Four Update

Although there were some top class races, there weren't many betting opportunities in month four of our First Class Racing review. As always, Mel had been very selective with his picks and there were just five that fit his criteria.

We finished the month almost even with 0.11 points profit at the advised odds.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets555
Total Stakes (pts)4.54.54.5
Profit/Loss (pts)0.110.110.12
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£5.50£5.50£6.00
Strike Rate60.0%60.0%60.0%
ROI2.3%2.3%2.7%
Overall Bank Growth22.8%22.8%34.1%
Bank (20pt starting)24.5624.5626.81

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
26/04/2022Punchestown 4.15Sir Gerhard1.001.73-1.0023.46
26/04/2022Punchestown 5.25Energumene1.001.730.7324.19
27/04/2022Punchestown 5.20The Nice Guy0.503.251.1325.31
27/04/2022Punchestown 5.20The Nice Guy (Place)1.00BSP0.2525.56
30/04/2022Punchestown 3.50Epatante1.001.83-1.0024.56

Month Five Update

It was the fifth winning month in a row for our First Class Racing review, bringing our total profit up to 5.29 points. That works out as a 26.5% increase to our starting bank of 20 points.

With the results from Royal Ascot to come, we decided to continue our review for another month to make it a total of six months.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets666
Total Stakes (pts)5.05.05.0
Profit/Loss (pts)0.730.731.9
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£36.50£36.50£95.00
Strike Rate50.0%50.0%50.0%
ROI14.6%14.6%38.0%
Overall Bank Growth26.5%26.5%43.6%
Bank (20pt starting)25.2925.2928.71

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
15/05/2022Longchamp 2.15Catchet (Each-way)1.003.75-0.2224.34
21/05/2022Curragh 2.45A Case Of You0.503.25-0.5023.84
21/05/2022Curragh 2.45A Case Of You (Place)1.00BSP0.3524.19
05/06/2022Chantilly 3.00Modern Games0.503.50-0.5023.69
05/06/2022Chantilly 3.00Modern Games (Place)1.00BSP0.8724.56
14/06/2022Royal Ascot 4.20Coroebus1.001.730.7325.29

Month Six Update

There was yet another winning month for First Class Racing, making it six months in a row and a fantastic conclusion to our review. There were just 7 bets in total but 4 of them won, adding 2.18 points profit to the pot.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets777
Total Stakes (pts)6.06.06.0
Profit/Loss (pts)2.182.182.27
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£109.00£109.00£113.50
Strike Rate57.1%57.1%57.1%
ROI36.3%36.3%37.8%
Overall Bank Growth37.4%37.4%54.9%
Bank (20pt starting)27.4727.4730.98

Results

DateRaceSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
17/06/2022Royal Ascot 2.30Meditate0.505.002.0027.29
17/06/2022Royal Ascot 2.30Meditate (Place)1.00BSP0.8428.13
17/06/2022Limerick 7.25Raise You0.502.10-0.5027.63
02/07/2022Sandown 3.35Vadeni0.503.001.0028.63
02/07/2022Sandown 3.35Vadeni (Place)1.00BSP1.3429.97
09/07/2022Newmarket 4.25Perfect Power1.003.75-1.0028.97
09/07/2022Newmarket 4.25Perfect Power (Place)1.50BSP-1.5027.47

Review Summary

  • Specifically covers Class 1 races only
  • Selective approach with low volume of bets
  • Telegram messenger app required 

First Class Racing is different to any horse racing tips service that we have reviewed before, as the tipster takes an extremely selective approach to ensure consistent profits are made.

Only Class 1 races are covered by the service, so you are only betting on the best races in the UK and Ireland.

This meant that during our six month review, there were just 43 bets but there was a profit made in every single month.

Being able to achieve results like this means that tipster Mel Gee can operate the service with a small betting bank of 20 points. For example, if you have £1,000 bank, your 1 point stake would be £50. 

During our review, we made 7.47 points profit at an ROI of 18.7%, which works out as £373.50 based on £50 stakes. That is a 37.4% increase to our starting bank.

The service performed even better at Betfair SP, with 10.98 points profit at an ROI of 27.5%. Perfect for those that have been limited at the bookies.

Key Stats

Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets434343
Total Stakes (pts)40.040.040.0
Profit/Loss (pts)7.477.4710.98
Profit/Loss (£50 stakes)£373.50£373.50£549.00
Strike Rate58.1%58.1%58.1%
ROI18.7%18.7%27.5%
Overall Bank Growth37.4%37.4%54.9%
Bank (20pt starting)27.4727.4730.98

If you are looking for a bet every day, then this certainly wouldn't be the tips service for you.

However, if you are looking for tips that you can rely on, that have been thoroughly researched so you can have the upmost confidence in them, then look no further.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

JPW Racing Tipster review

JPW Racing Tipster Review: Horse Racing Tips Service

JPW Racing Tipster is a long-established horse racing tips service that provides tips for top rated horse races, focusing exclusively on weekend and festivals.

Read More
GolfBetsGold Review

GolfBetsGold Review: Golf Betting Tips Service

We finished our GolfBetsGold review with 32.6 points profit at an ROI of 43.8%, which meant our bank had increased by a healthy 32.6% overall. It’s a pass!

Read More
Early Odds Review

Early Odds Review: Horse Racing Betting Tips

Early Odds is a value horse racing betting service which banked a profit both times we trialled the results. We highly recommend taking a look at this tipster.

Read More
The Goat Review

The Goat Review: Tennis Tipping Service

We’re not sure if The Goat is an acronym or a highly intelligent goat, but this tipster sure knows their tennis, achieving a 6.8% ROI during our review.

Read More
Predictology Review

Predictology Review: Daily Tips & Football System Builder

Predictology is a football betting strategy builder that allows you to analyse 300,000+ matches to find profitable bets in a matter of seconds.

Read More
Outside Rides review

Outside Rides Review: Betfair SP Horse Racing Tips

Outside Rides is a horse racing tips service with an incredible record at Betfair SP, producing 1,715 points profit at an outstanding ROI of 71% in 38 months.

Read More
L7N Longshots Review

L7N Longshots Review: High Odds Betting Tips

We reviewed L7N Longshots each way horse tipping service for three months and with a ROI of 25.3% achieved, we awarded them with a pass rating.

Read More
Match Day Profits Review

Match Day Profits Review: Low Risk Betting Tips

Match Day Profits is a football betting service from Paul Ruffy that uses low-risk bet strategies to take advantage of bookie offers. Read our full review here.

Read More
Cleeve Racing logo

Cleeve Racing Review: Expert Horse Racing Tips

During our three month review of Cleeve Racing, we banked 56.94 points profit at 30.9% ROI. We did not hesitate to award this horse racing tipster with a pass, and you can get 25% off exclusive to Goal Profits!

Read More

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.