Pre-match Trading Review: Football Scalping Tool

Pre Match Trading Review
  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3.5 stars

  • Pre-Match Trading
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 26th June 2018

Welcome to our Pre-Match Trading review where we test out the software that highlights potential scalping opportunities for football matches on Betfair.

Pros

  • Chat room available to discuss trades
  • Video examples of the software in operation
  • Good customer support

Cons

  • User manual/instructions could be improved
  • Advice emails difficult to take advantage of due to competition with other traders

It’s Dave here reporting back with my final update to the Pre Match Trading software review. The software aims to highlight scalping opportunities before the start of football matches available on Betfair. It compares odds against Pinnacle and Spread firms to spot any potential discrepancies that you may be able to take advantage of.

In my last update I made a profit of £60.34 using £20 stakes and then took a short break whilst waiting for the Euros to get started. During Euro 2016 I managed to make a small profit of £16.38, again using £20 stakes, so that gives me a total profit of £76.72. This is not spectacular but nonetheless, it is a profit. It is up to the individual to determine the size of bets that they wish to make but obviously, my results can be extrapolated to any bet size.

I opted to use small stakes during the trial to try and get to grips with it, but many people experienced in scalping may use stakes ranging from £100 - £1000. In reality the full stake is never at risk as the idea is to trade out with a small loss if the odds do not move in the right direction.

To give an example of what could be achieved - using £100 stakes during the review would have resulted in a profit of £383.60, £500 stakes would have made a profit of £1918 and £1000 stakes would have given a profit of £3836.

Review Stats £76.72 profit to £20 stakes
Stakes User’s choice, but small stakes (<£50) are unlikely to generate enough profit to cover membership fees
Starting bank User’s choice
Average no. bets Varies – we had approx. 4-6 per day
Price £20 for two weeks, £39 for one month, £106 for three months or £191 for six months
Rating Pass

The software includes odds for the following markets:

  • Over/Under Goals – from 1.5 to 4.5
  • Correct Score
  • Next Goal
  • Half Time Match Odds
  • Half Time Correct Score

There is also a Draw Inflation tool which identifies matches where the Draw price is out of line.

I found that during my trial of the software the markets were very liquid, but by the time I placed my orders based upon the information given, I was well back in the queue and had some degree of difficulty in getting my bets matched. My conclusion here is that this may be a better prospect in games where there is good liquidity, but not say too much in excess of £50,000. This should allow for bet matching and possible gaps in the prices which can be taken advantage of.

I have mostly been using the Correct Score and Over/Under markets as there is better liquidity available.

Pre Match Trading Review Example

During the trial period I used Bet Angel and programmed it to either take a tick or trade out at a tick so as to keep losses as low as possible. This seemed to work well as to be honest, prices in these sorts of markets do not move very much and sometimes not at all. I also programmed it to close two minutes before kick off as the authors suggest that you do not let the games selected go in-play.

The authors send out e-mails with suggested bets at frequent intervals but as before, it was difficult to get my bets matched as everybody else was trying to do the same.


Euro 2016 Results
DateMatchBetBack PriceLay PriceProfit/LossRunning Total
14/06/2016Austria v Hungary0-08.808.6£0.47£2,000.47
1-06.005.9£0.34£2,000.81
O/2.52.422.38£0.34£2,001.15
Portugal v Iceland1-06.005.90£0.34£2,001.49
2-06.806.60£0.61£2,002.10
15/06/2016Russia v Slovakia0-08.608.40£0.49£2,002.58
2-012.5012.00£0.83£2,003.41
Romania v Switzerland0-08.608.40£0.49£2,003.90
0-17.607.40£0.54£2,004.44
1-09.809.60£0.42£2,004.86
2-012.5012.00£0.89£2,005.69
16/06/2016England v Wales0-116.0017.50-£1.71£2,003.98
1-06.806.60£0.61£2,004.59
2-07.807.60£0.53£2,005.12
2-110.5011.00-£0.91£2,004.21
Ukraine v N Ireland0-07.808.00-£0.50£2,003.71
2-08.008.20-£0.49£2,003.22
2-111.5011.00£0.91£2,004.13
17/06/2016Czech Rep v Croatia0-07.207.60-£1.05£2,003.08
1-010.5011.50-£1.74£2,001.34
1-17.007.20-£0.56£2,000.78
0-210.009.60£0.83£2,001.61
18/06/2016Belgium v Rep Of Ireland0-08.608.40£0.48£2,002.09
0-113.5014.00-£0.71£2,001.38
1-06.606.40£0.63£2,002.01
1-17.808.00-£0.50£2,001.51
2-09.008.80£0.45£2,001.96
19/06/2016Romania v Albania0-09.409.20£0.43£2,002.39
1-07.207.40-£0.54£2,001.85
2-111.5011.00£0.91£2,002.76
France v Switzerland0-07.407.20£0.56£2,003.32
0-16.406.20£0.65£2,003.97
0-29.409.20£0.43£2,003.40
1-211.0010.50£0.95£2,004.35
20/06/2016Slovakia v England0-08.208.00£0.50£2,004.85
0-28.608.40£0.48£2,005.33
1-013.5014.00-£0.71£2,004.62
Russia v Wales0-07.807.60£0.53£2,005.15
0-18.408.20£0.49£2,005.64
1-08.007.80£0.51£2,006.15
2-015.0014.50£0.69£2,006.84
2-114.0014.50-£0.69£2,006.15
O/3.56.206.40-£0.62£2,005.53
O/4.515.5015.00£0.67£2,006.20
21/06/2016Croatia v Spain0-07.006.80£0.59£2,006.79
0-16.606.80-£0.59£2,006.20
0-210.0010.50-£0.95£2,005.25
1-011.5011.00£0.91£2,006.16
1-17.207.00£0.57£2,006.73
O/4.516.0016.50-£0.61£2,006.12
Czech Rep v Turkey0-010.5011.00-£0.91£2,005.21
0-111.0011.50-£0.87£2,004.34
1-09.009.20-£0.43£2,003.91
1-18.208.40-£0.48£2,003.43
2-013.5014.00-£0.71£2,002.72
2-111.5011.00£0.91£2,003.63
22/06/2016Italy v Ireland0-18.408.20£0.49£2,004.12
1-07.407.60-£0.53£2,003.59
2-012.5012.00£0.83£2,004.42
2-113.0012.50£0.80£2,005.22
O/3.56.807.00-£0.57£2,004.65
O/4.517.5018.00-£0.56£2,004.09
Sweden v Belgium0-09.409.20£0.43£2,004.52
0-29.209.40-£0.43£2,004.09
1-013.0012.50£0.80£2,004.89
1-211.0010.50£0.95£2,005.84
O/4.511.5011.00£0.91£2,006.75
26/06/2016Ireland v France0-07.808.00-£0.50£2,006.25
0-119.5019.00£0.53£2,006.78
1-110.5011.00-£0.91£2,005.87
2-111.0011.50-£0.87£2,005.00
2-06.406.20£0.65£2,005.65
26/06/2016Germany v Slovakia2-06.005.90£0.34£2,005.99
3-119.0018.50£0.54£2,006.53
3-011.0011.50-£0.87£2,005.66
2-111.0011.50-£0.87£2,004.79
Hungary v Belgium0-08.808.60£0.47£2,005.26
0-15.906.00-£0.33£2,004.93
0-28.208.40-£0.48£2,004.45
1-018.5018.00£0.56£2,005.01
1-210.0010.50-£0.95£2,004.06
1-18.408.20£0.49£2,004.55
27/06/2016Italy v Spain0-210.009.80£0.41£2,004.96
1-17.407.20£0.56£2,005.52
1-213.0013.50-£0.74£2,004.78
1-09.809.60£0.42£2,005.20
0-16.206.40-£0.62£2,004.58
O/4.519.0020.00-£1.00£2,003.58
O/3.57.607.80-£0.51£2,003.07
27/06/2016England v Iceland2-06.806.60£0.61£2,003.68
3-010.5011.00-£0.91£2,002.77
3-117.0016.50£0.61£2,003.38
30/06/2016Poland v Portugal0-06.406.20£0.65£2,004.03
0-16.606.80-£0.59£2,003.44
0-212.0011.50£0.87£2,004.31
1-17.407.20£0.56£2,004.87
O/3.57.407.20£0.56£2,005.43
01/07/2016Wales v Belgium0-16.806.60£0.61£2,006.04
0-29.209.00£0.44£2,006.48
1-014.0013.50£0.74£2,007.22
1-17.808.00-£0.50£2,006.72
1-211.5011.00£0.91£2,007.63
O/3.55.105.00£0.40£2,008.03
03/07/2016France v Iceland2-19.209.40-£0.43£2,007.60
3-011.0010.50£0.95£2,008.55
3-116.5015.50£1.29£2,009.84
2-07.207.00£0.57£2,010.41
AOH7.207.00£0.57£2,010.98
06/07/2016Portugal v Wales0-110.5010.00£1.00£2,011.98
2-011.0011.50-£0.87£2,011.11
2-112.0011.50£0.87£2,011.98
O/3.55.505.40£0.37£2,012.35
O/4.513.5014.00-£0.71£2,011.64
07/07/2016Germany v France0-18.608.40£0.48£2,012.12
0-216.0015.50£0.65£2,012.77
1-16.806.60£0.61£2,013.38
1-212.5012.00£0.83£2,014.21
10/07/2016Portugal v France0-16.606.40£0.63£2,014.84
0-210.009.80£0.41£2,015.25
1-011.5011.00£0.91£2,016.16
1-211.5011.00£0.91£2,017.07
O/4.514.0014.50-£0.69£2,016.38

Access to Pre-Match Trading requires a subscription. It is fully browser-based so it works across all platforms. There are several pricing options:

  • Two weeks – £20
  • One month – £39
  • Three months – £106
  • Six months – £191

Summary

Scalping is a typical marmite thing. You either take to it or you do not. Many people cannot seem to get to grips with it or are not prepared to make bets large enough to make a tick here or there worthwhile.

I sometimes felt a little overwhelmed at the sheer amount of information that was available and found it a little confusing at times when a bet was indicated and then a few minutes later this was no longer the case. You must decide for yourself whether or not you wish to be part of this world and as such whether or not a subscription to the software would be of benefit to you personally.

In conclusion, I would put Pre-Match Trading in the “Pass” category as it did show a profit over the period of the trial but as stated previously, it does need a more simplified manual for those who are unfamiliar with it and the concept.


Pre-Match Trading Review: Update One

19th May 2016

It’s Dave here with an update on the Pre Match Trading software review. I have been using the software for a month now and it has given me a profit of £60.34 using £20 stakes during this time. My best day saw a profit of £17.73.

Just to recap you, Pre Match Trading is a piece of software that highlights mis-aligned prices within Betfair football markets, which may be potential scalping opportunities.

I find that the amount of information that is given on the website is, to say the least, a little overwhelming and it is difficult to know where to start. The authors have used a very simple colour coding method to try and simplify things but as prices move very quickly in some markets, these are constantly changing and sometimes the bet that you were going to make is moments later no longer a qualifier.

I attempted some trades using Bet Angel in reverse mode, but initially I had great difficulty in getting my bets matched even though liquidity in the markets that I chose was very good. I have now tried to concentrate on markets where I might spot a gap between the back and the lay price in the hope that I can take advantage of this to get my bets matched. This has perhaps led me to use it less than I perhaps would otherwise have done.

There are a multitude of videos on the site to assist with using this but I found that most of them assumed a level of familiarity with the tool that most will not possess especially when starting out and they can appear somewhat bewildering to the new user. This is yet another piece of software that would greatly benefit from a good simplistic written manual.

The authors also send out periodic e-mails with predicted price movements but I found that these were quite difficult to get matched as obviously, everybody was trying to do the same.

I will be taking a break from using the tool now until the Euro’s start and hope as I get more used to it that I can increase the profit.


Pre-Match Trading Review: Introduction

28th April 2016

This month we are starting a review of a football trading tool called Pre Match Trading (also known as PMT or Shirley!). The aim of the software is to indicate misaligned prices in various Betfair markets, which can be taken advantage of by “scalping” them pre-match.

PMT is a football markets model based on probability theory and statistics.
The software uses prices in liquid markets and calculates relevant prices in secondary markets thus allowing users to spot mispriced events and profit from trading them before the game has started.

The software identifies out of line odds in the following markets:

  • Over/Under Goals – from 1.5 to 4.5
  • Correct Score
  • Next Goal
  • Half Time Match Odds
  • Half Time Correct Score

Here you can see an example of the software at work with the Newcastle v Man City game. On the left is the current Betfair odds, followed by the odds calculated by PMT. It also has prices from Pinnacle, SBO and spread firms, which can offer some insight to which way the market is going to go.

Pre Match Trading Review Example

Pre-Match Trading Interface

One of the more recent upgrades to the software is the Draw Inflation tool, which spots games where the draw has been calculated too high or low.

There are a number of strategies available in the help section, which explain the recommended action in various scenarios, such as trading matches with a short priced favourite or what to do with a high or low draw inflation.

The software may look a bit complicated at first; especially if this is the first time you are dipping into football trading. There is plenty of support available, starting with the tutorial videos and examples of the software at work with previous successful trades. There is also a chatroom with some experienced traders who can offer advice, as well as email support for any other issues.

Although the service is by no means a tipping service, they often send out advice emails at the weekend or for big matches during the week, which have some recommended markets and the required odds to enter the trade. Obviously you would need to react quite quickly to these emails, as there will be other members trying to get on the same trade.

The software will work on Windows, Mac & Linux as it is browser based.

There are four pricing options:

  • Two weeks - £20
  • One month - £39
  • Three months - £106
  • Six months - £191

Dave is going to be testing the software out over the next month, but as the end of the football season is almost here he will be taking a short break before returning to do some testing on the Euros.

He will be back next month with an update of how he is getting on.

Pros

  • Chat room available to discuss trades
  • Video examples of the software in operation
  • Good customer support

Cons

  • User manual/instructions could be improved
  • Advice emails difficult to take advantage of due to competition with other traders

1 Comment

  1. I tried this service myself too, and I agree, the documentation and instructions showing you how to use it are terrible. They obviously cant be bothered to make a proper manual.

Leave a Response

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.