Football Edge Review: Value Betting Tips for Football

Written by Laura Turner

Football Edge

Football Edge is a betting strategy based on value betting combined with a staking system designed to maximise profits.

You can bet on the selections advised by the service at either traditional bookmakers or using a betting exchange, as they are in popular leagues with plenty of liquidity.

Results start from 2019 and show that the system has delivered a profit in every year. The results page is a little bit hard to analyse, but clicking on each individual year shows profit/loss figures, including screenshots from Betfair Exchange.

The following results are based on a £2,500 starting bank:

  • 2019: +£1,968.83 
  • 2020: +£3,656.17 
  • 2021 : +£3,223.50
  • 2022 : +£3,934.96
  • 2023 : +£2,043.89
  • Total : +£14,827.35

With these results, the starting bank appears to have been reset at the beginning of each year, so there would have been much more profit if the staking plan had just continued throughout.

Bets are uploaded to a member's area and you need to enter your bank and the available odds for each bet. The system then tells you whether it is a valid bet at those odds or not, and if it is, it calculates the stake for you using the Kelly Criterion.

They are mostly on short-priced favourites in the match odds or Asian handicap markets.

As always, we go into this review with an open mind, but initially it is hard to imagine being able to profit from such popular markets that have surely been scrutinised by bookmakers already.

We posted our results showing profit at bookmakers and Betfair Exchange each month.

Read on for our full Football Edge review, or click here for more information.

Before you continue...

Our Football Edge review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Outside Rides Review: Betfair SP Horse Racing Tips
Outside Rides is a horse racing tips service with an incredible record at Betfair SP, producing 1,715 points profit at an outstanding ROI of 71% in 38 months.
Match Day Profits Review: Low Risk Betting Tips
Match Day Profits is a football betting service from Paul Ruffy that uses low-risk bet strategies to take advantage of bookie offers. Read our full review here.
SVB Tips Review: Multi-Sport Betting Tips Service
SVB Tips is a multi-sport tipping service that had a clean sweep during our review with 3 out of 3 winning months, achieving 79.89 points profit in total.

Month One Update

Our Football Edge review didn't get off to a good start with £283.96 lost at the odds available at the bookmakers and £311.79 at the Betfair Exchange odds. This was based on using the advised Kelly Criterion staking system.

There were a few selections where there wasn't any money in the market at the Exchange, mainly for the Asian Handicap bets, so we had to leave them out. It may have been possible to get matched closer to the start time, but we planned to just take the odds available at the time the bets were released during our review.

As with the historical results, many of the bets were at low odds on heavy favourites during our first month following the service. This can make it difficult to get back on track when you hit a run of losing bets, but our bank wasn't in any danger yet.

Key Stats

BookmakerExchange
Number of Bets2218
Total Stakes£2,645.64 £2,645.64
Profit/Loss-£283.96-£311.79
Strike Rate72.7%72.2%
ROI-10.7%-11.8%
Overall Bank Growth-11.4%-12.5%
Bank (£2,500 starting)£2,216.04 £2,188.21

Results

DateMatchBetStakeBookmaker OddsP/LBank
15/12/2023Napoli v CagliariNapoli£152.221.35£53.28£2,553.28
15/12/2023Heracles v FeyenoordHeracles +2 AH£104.671.90-£104.67£2,448.61
15/12/2023Arsenal v BrightonArsenal£125.001.50£62.50£2,511.11
15/12/2023Ajax v PEC ZwolleAjax£160.721.29-£160.72£2,350.39
15/12/2023Real Madrid v VillarrealReal Madrid£98.931.29£28.69£2,379.08
22/12/2023Inter Milan v LecceInter Milan£46.761.25£11.69£2,390.77
26/12/2023Burnley v LiverpoolBurnley +2 AH£79.961.48£0.00£2,390.77
28/12/2023Arsenal v West HamArsenal£177.091.36-£177.09£2,213.68
29/12/2023Napoli v MonzaNapoli£134.381.70-£134.38£2,079.30
29/12/2023Benfica v FamalicaoBenfica£203.111.25£50.78£2,130.07
29/12/2023Porto v ChavesPorto£99.561.17£16.93£2,147.00
30/12/2023Portimonense v Sporting LisbonPortimonense +2 AH£121.461.55£66.80£2,213.80
03/01/2024Lamia v Olympiacos PiraeusPAS Lamia 1964 +2 AH£52.711.48£25.30£2,239.10
03/01/2024PAOK v OFI HeraklionPAOK£216.181.29£62.69£2,301.80
03/01/2024Real Madrid v MallorcaReal Madrid£16.491.23£3.79£2,305.59
05/01/2024Sporting CP v EstorilSporting CP£196.571.25£49.14£2,354.73
07/01/2024Salernitana v JuventusSalernitana +2 AH£67.181.28£18.81£2,373.54
13/01/2024Chaves vs Sporting LisbonG.D. Chaves +2 AH£174.521.72-£174.52£2,199.02
13/01/2024Monza v Inter MilanMonza +2 AH£68.921.28-£68.92£2,130.10
14/01/2024Kifisia v Olympiacos PiraeusKifisia +2 AH£56.511.48£27.12£2,157.23
14/01/2024Benfica vs Rio AveBenfica£160.041.21£33.61£2,190.83
14/01/2024PAOK Salonika vs GianninaPAOK£132.661.19£25.21£2,216.04

Month Two Update

It was another losing month for Football Edge with £459.52 lost at the bookmaker odds and £444.10 using Betfair Exchange.

There were three bets that were discounted from our Betfair results, due to the markets not being formed at the time the selections were released.

As mentioned in the first month, these bets may have been able to get matched closer to the event on the exchange, but for our review we did not have time to keep checking on bets so we just took the odds from when the bets were received.

We ran into the same issue with this service with several odds on favourites failing to win, which set us back a lot and it would take a number of winning bets to recover what was lost.

Key Stats

BookmakerExchange
Number of Bets2727
Total Stakes£2,837.54£2,837.54
Profit/Loss-£459.52-£444.10
Strike Rate70.40%66.70%
ROI-16.20%-15.70%
Overall Bank Growth-29.70%-30.20%
Bank (£2,500 starting)£1,756.52£1,744.11

Results

DateMatchBetStakeBookmaker OddsP/LBank
16/01/2024Vizela vs Sporting LisbonF.C. Vizela +2 AH£59.251.44-£59.25£2,156.79
19/01/2024Benfica vs BoavistaBenfica£92.291.17£15.69£2,172.48
20/01/2024Arsenal vs Crystal PalaceArsenal£119.821.30£35.95£2,208.42
21/01/2024FC Utrecht vs PSVFC Utrecht +2 AH£96.621.55£53.14£2,261.57
21/01/2024Vitesse vs FeyenoordVitesse +2 AH£179.121.89£159.42£2,420.98
21/01/2024Ajax vs RKCAjax£138.661.29£40.21£2,461.19
21/01/2024Panathinaikos vs Asteras TripolisPanathinaikos£216.321.30£64.90£2,526.09
23/01/2024Dinamo Zagreb vs NK Lokomotiva ZagrebDinamo Zagreb£49.691.25-£49.69£2,476.40
27/01/2024Augsburg vs Bayern MunichAugsburg +2 AH£68.131.63£42.92£2,519.32
27/01/2024Juventus vs EmpoliJuventus£108.261.30-£108.26£2,411.06
27/01/2024Barcelona vs VillarrealBarcelona£157.881.36-£157.88£2,253.18
27/01/2024Heracles vs AjaxHeracles +2 AH£17.941.40£0.00£2,253.18
28/01/2024Olympiakos vs GianninaOlympiakos£89.651.22£19.72£2,272.91
29/01/2024Sporting Lisbon vs Casa PiaSporting Lisbon£94.661.17£16.09£2,289.00
30/01/2024Young Boys vs YverdonYoung Boys£68.881.40£27.55£2,316.55
30/01/2024Nottingham Forest vs ArsenalNottingham Forest +2 AH£24.891.40£9.96£2,326.51
31/01/2024Barcelona vs OsasunaBarcelona£111.991.33£36.96£2,363.46
03/02/2024Kisvarda v FerencvarosKisvárda FC +2 AH£174.641.28£0.00£2,363.46
03/02/2024Porto v Rio AvePorto£171.131.22-£171.13£2,192.33
04/02/2024Benfica v Gil VicenteBenfica£98.431.17£16.73£2,209.07
05/02/2024Brentford v Man CityBrentford +2 AH£68.621.47£0.00£2,209.07
17/02/2024Burnley v ArsenalBurnley +2 AH£83.851.50-£83.85£2,125.22
17/02/2024BW Linz vs SalzburgBW Linz +2 AH£46.751.30£14.03£2,139.24
17/02/2024Panathinaikos vs LamiaPanathinaikos£224.111.36-£224.11£1,915.13
18/02/2024Ajax vs NECAjax£194.921.40-£194.92£1,720.21
18/02/2024Bochum vs Bayern MunichBochum +2 AH£53.111.61£32.40£1,752.61
18/02/2024Benfica vs VizelaBenfica£27.931.14£3.91£1,756.52

Please note: The reviewer was on holiday 8th-14th February, so seven days of bets were added on to the end of the month's results to cover the period missed.


Review Summary

After a poor couple of months of results during our Football Edge review, we intended to continue recording tips for one more month in hope that results would improve.

As we were starting that third month, we received an email from the service about some upcoming changes.

"In four and a half years, we have never had such a bad month and typically, it has happened whilst we are being reviewed. All we can do is try our best to reverse the trend.

We have been testing a second algorithm for the last two years which we had planned to integrate into our service at the beginning of March but in light of the current state of play, we are going live with it this week.
"

We logged in to see the week's bets and the volume had increased dramatically, with 14 bets posted in one day.

In light of this, we decided that it was not in our interest to continue with the review. 

Because of the way the service worked, with bank information needing to be entered for each bet and odds needing to be checked at bookmakers as well as the exchanges, it was already taking us a while to get bets recorded each time.

Adding so many more bets to the mix would have ended up taking way too much time to spend on one review, which wasn't going well in any case.

If Football Edge refines their strategy to something that works in the future, then we are open to taking another look, but for now, it is not a service that we can recommend.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Laura Turner

About Laura

I have been running the 'Betting System Review' part of Goal Profits since 2015. I carry out fully independent reviews of betting and trading systems, tracking results and giving my honest feedback.

Here are some betting systems and services that earned a Pass rating when I reviewed them:

During our Bonus Bagging review, we tested Mike Cruickshank’s matched betting service. It shows you exactly how to make risk-free profits from bookie bonuses – it even finds them for you! We completed 16 bookie sign up offers and made £341.41 profit in just one month!

Read More

Each Way Sniper is a low-risk horse racing betting system which exploits Each Way markets. During our one month review, we made £149.83 profit from 37 bets.

Read More

We finished our Second Class Racing review with a sizable profit of 50.7 points overall. We were thrilled to have found a profitable horse racing laying service that could be used on Betfair Exchange.

Read More
Goal Profits

Are you ready to learn how profitable football trading works, generate a second income, or simply improve on past returns?

>