The Lay Bet Tipster Review: Horse Racing Lay Betting Tips

The Lay Bet Tipster review

The Lay Bet Tipster is a horse racing tipping service that provides daily lay betting tips for Betfair Exchange.

They reported some very promising results during their six months of proofing at Betting Gods, with 79.8 points profit at an ROI of 8.23%.

At the time that we started our review, they were yet to have a losing month and had already achieved a bank growth of 79.8%.

The service was very easy to use, as the bets can either be placed at the time you receive the email or message or they can simply be placed at Betfair SP.

They record their results based on 1 point (liability) stakes at maximum odds of 8.00. Since they launched the service in April 2022, the odds have averaged at 5.31.

We followed the service for four months and reported our results on a monthly basis, which you can see below.

Review Stats+3.96pts profit, 5.7% ROI, 82.4% SR
Stakes Level 1 point stakes
Starting bank 100 points
Average no. betsApprox. 4-5 per month
Time of emailsMorning 7.00-8.00am
Price£0.99 for 10 days then £27 per month
RatingNeutral

Month One Update

There were just five bets that qualified in the first month of our Lay Bet Tipster review, but the filters did their job as it was a 100% strike rate with all five lays returning a profit.

There were other bets sent out, but the tipster advises to lay up to maximum odds of 8.00 so there were quite a few that were discarded.

We finished the month with 5 points profit (commission to be deducted) at an ROI of 19%.

Key Stats

BSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets5
Total Stakes (pts)26.36
Profit/Loss (pts)5.00
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£50.00
Strike Rate100.0%
ROI19.0%
Overall Bank Growth5.0%
Bank (100pt starting)105.00

Results

DateRaceBetStakeBSP OddsP/LBank
14/11/202219:00 WolverhamptonBasholo1.006.401.00101.00
24/11/202215:28 KelsoMaid Of Houxty1.008.001.00102.00
28/11/202220:25 WolverhamptonTea Garden1.005.601.00103.00
09/12/202214:00 WolverhamptonAll In The Hips1.006.131.00104.00
10/12/202216:20 WolverhamptonCarlotta1.005.231.00105.00

Month Two Update

It was another quiet month for The Lay Bet Tipster with just two bets qualifying below the odds of 8.00. As one of them lost, it ended up being a small loss of 0.38 points for the month.

With concern growing about the number of bets for the service, we decided to get in touch with Betting Gods. They quickly responded to let us know that this tipster focuses on flat racing, which wasn't due to start for another couple of months.

That explained the low volume, so we planned to keep our review running for an extended period to make sure we included some flat racing results.

Key Stats

BSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets2
Total Stakes (pts)6.18
Profit/Loss (pts)-0.38
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)(£3.80)
Strike Rate50.0%
ROI-6.1%
Overall Bank Growth4.6%
Bank (100pt starting)104.62

Results

DateRaceBetStakeBSP OddsP/LBank
13/12/202214:43 SouthwellGolden Dove1.005.801.00 106.00
06/01/202312:45 KemptonTollerton Forest1.002.38-1.38 104.62

Month Three Update

The quantity of bets for The Lay Bet Tipster seemed to be picking up, with a few more selections than the previous two months. Unfortunately, this didn't translate to more profit and we finished the month with 2.66 points lost.

In total we were showing a 2% bank growth for the three months, so it had been very slow going. As mentioned in our previous update, we hoped that the service would spring into action once the flat racing season got going.

Key Stats

BSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets8
Total Stakes (pts)30.46
Profit/Loss (pts)-2.66
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)(£26.60)
Strike Rate75.0%
ROI-8.7%
Overall Bank Growth2.0%
Bank (100pt starting)101.96

Results

DateRaceBetStakeBSP OddsP/LBank
16/01/202316:20 WolverhamptonDensetsu1.003.201.00 105.62
23/01/202315:10 SouthwellDanni California1.005.94-4.94 100.68
25/01/202315:30 NewcastleLilikoi1.004.72-3.72 96.96
26/01/202313:35 SouthwellGincident1.003.801.00 97.96
26/01/202314:10 SouthwellZip1.005.001.00 98.96
31/01/202317:00 SouthwellVelma1.003.301.00 99.96
31/01/202318:00 SouthwellGlorious Angel1.007.801.00 100.96
07/02/202319:00 WolverhamptonFarhh To Shy1.004.701.00 101.96

Month Four Update

There were just two selections that qualified during month four of our Lay Bet Tipster review and they were both winning lay bets, so we made the full 2 points profit minus commission.

Key Stats

BSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets2
Total Stakes (pts)6.63
Profit/Loss (pts)2.00
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£20.00
Strike Rate100.0%
ROI30.2%
Overall Bank Growth4.0%
Bank (100pt starting)103.96

Results

DateRaceBetStakeBSP OddsP/LBank
17/02/202316:20 LingfieldAnisoptera1.003.301.00 102.96
20/02/202317:30 NewcastleEvolicatt1.005.331.00 103.96

Review Summary

  • Lay bets placed on Betfair Exchange, so bookmakers not required
  • Low volume of bets
  • Easy to follow

It had been a very slow moving review of this service as there were just 17 bets that qualified during the four months that we were following it, which was an average of 4-5 bets per month.

The tips delivered 3.96 points profit at an ROI 5.7% overall, with 14 out of 17 of them returning a profit.

Whilst we were happy to see a high strike rate and a profit banked, it would have been difficult to cover the cost of the subscription using our standard £10 stakes. 

The starting bank had been advised at 100 points, so £10 stakes would need £1,000 to start with. If we had a £5,000 starting bank we would have made £198, which still wouldn't have been a huge amount of profit minus the commission and fees.

Key Stats

BSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets17
Total Stakes (pts)69.63
Profit/Loss (pts)3.96
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£39.60
Strike Rate82.4%
ROI5.7%
Overall Bank Growth4.0%
Bank (100pt starting)103.96

Being selective isn't a bad thing but we wondered if a smaller starting bank may have worked out better for this service.

It seems pretty low risk and it could allow us to stake higher and make more of a profit. We assumed the tipster chose a 100 point bank based on drawdown in past results, but maybe that wasn't the case and he was just being ultra careful.

We decided to give the service a neutral rating as it did make a profit but it was just a small amount over four months.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Betting Gods review

Betting Gods Review: Betting Tips From Professional Tipsters

Betting Gods is one of the most popular tipster platforms and has been home to some of the best tipping services for a range of sports since 2014.

Read More
Fairbot Betfair trading software review

Fairbot Review: Betfair Exchange Trading Software

Our Fairbot Review explains how this popular Betfair trading software works and how it can give you an edge in the markets. There’s an exclusive deal too!

Read More
Clear Bonus Profits Review

Clear Bonus Profits Review: Matched Betting Service

In just three months, Ollie barely touched the surface of what was available at Clear Bonus Profits but still managed to bank a healthy profit of £1,400.86. That works out at an impressive average of £467 profit per month.

Read More
Bets For Today VIP Review

Bets For Today VIP Review: Betting Tips Package

Bets For Today VIP turned out to be a profitable set of betting systems, making 30.16 points profit during our three month review at an ROI of 9.3%. It gets a pass from us!

Read More
The Dossier review

The Dossier Review: Fifteen Profitable Betting Strategies

The Dossier is a collection of fifteen of the most profitable betting strategies and systems that the Bet Chat team have discovered over the years.

Read More
PounceBet AutoPounce Review

PounceBet Review: Automated Betfair System

PounceBet Auto Pounce is an automated Betfair betting app that trades profitable opportunities in-play. We made £861.93 profit from it in our four month review!

Read More
The Inside Man Review

The Inside Man Review: Football Betting Tips Service

The Inside Man, or Adam Cheng as he’s better known, proved that his experience within the industry has given him an edge against the bookmakers, delivering £646.50 profit at an ROI of 11.8%.

Read More
Predictology Review

Predictology Review: Daily Tips & Football System Builder

Predictology is a football betting strategy builder that allows you to analyse 300,000+ matches to find profitable bets in a matter of seconds.

Read More
First Class Racing Review

First Class Racing Review: Class 1 Horse Racing Tips

First Class Racing achieved a 37.4% bank growth during our proofing, using a selective approach and betting on the best of the best Class 1 horse races.

Read More

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3.5 stars

  • The Lay Bet Tipster review
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 24th March 2023

The Lay Bet Tipster is a horse racing tips service that provides daily lay betting tips for Betfair Exchange. Find out how they got on in our live trial here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.