Football King Review: Laying the Favourite Tips

Written by Laura Turner

Football King Review

Football King is a "Lay the Favourite" tipping service that reported an ROI of 30% since it launched September 2020.

In the five months that the service had been running prior to our review, they were yet to have a losing month, averaging 12.7 points profit per month with a total of 63.4 points profit.

They say that their key to success is low liability laying with a high strike rate. There is often value to be found in underdogs and this service aims to capitalise on that.

The service uses a staking plan that is a little different to most services, with betting taking place in rounds. In each sequence there is a target profit of 1 point (after Betfair commission) and stakes increase if there is a losing bet.

There is a starting bank of 150 points advised and the stakes to use each day are stated at the top of the selections page.

Bets are released each day before 10.00am to a member's area and there aren't any emails, so it's just a case of remembering to login and check for tips each morning.

We kicked off our review once a new sequence had started, but as you will find out below, our review came to untimely end!


Before you continue...

Our Football King review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

5 Star Bot Review: Automated Betting Software
5 Star Bot is a versatile horse racing and greyhound automated betting bot which runs on its own server and is accessible from any device. Here is our review.
The Dossier Review: Fifteen Profitable Betting Strategies
The Dossier is a collection of fifteen of the most profitable betting strategies and systems that the Bet Chat team have discovered over the years.
Racing Success Review: Betfair SP Horse Racing Tips
Racing Success achieved a fantastic set of results during our review, producing 63.58 points profit at Betfair SP overall. The success came from the win bets, which produced a profit in three out of four months.

Results

We made a profit of £800 during our Football King review, based on following the tipster's staking plan of a £15,000 starting bank and a £100 target profit per sequence.

These results include a deduction of 2% Betfair commission.

The staking plan turned out to be far too risky for our liking, which we go into more detail on in our summary below.

DateMatchBet (Lay)Available OddsLiabilityP/LTotal
03/02/2021Burnley v Man CityMan City1.24£24.49-£24.49£14,975.51
03/02/2021Dijon v LyonLyon1.36£45.73-£45.73£14,929.78
04/02/2021Midtjylland v SonderjyskEMidtjylland1.43£74.69£170.22£15,100.00
04/02/2021Belenenses v PortoPorto1.44£44.90£100.00£15,200.00
04/02/2021Braga v PortimonenseBraga1.45£45.92-£45.92£15,154.08
06/02/2021Schalke 04 v RB LeipzigRB Leipzig1.35£52.12-£52.12£15,101.96
06/02/2021Elche v VillarrealVillarreal1.50£101.04£198.04£15,300.00
06/02/2021Genoa v NapoliNapoli1.85£86.73£100.00£15,400.00
07/02/2021Karlsruhe v Jahn RegensburgKarlsruhe2.18£120.41£100.00£15,500.00
07/02/2021AC Horsens v FC CopenhagenFC Copenhagen1.57£58.16-£58.16£15,441.84
07/02/2021Sheff Utd v ChelseaChelsea1.53£91.99-£91.99£15,349.85
08/02/2021Randers v MidtjyllandMidtjylland1.94£239.94-£239.94£15,109.91
08/02/2021Atletico Madrid v Celta VigoAtletico Madrid1.72£360.06£490.09£15,600.00
10/02/2021Grenoble v MonacoMonaco1.43£43.88-£43.88£15,556.12
10/02/2021Swansea v Man CityMan City1.20£29.36-£29.36£15,526.76
10/02/2021Sheff Utd v Bristol CitySheff Utd1.63£111.37-£111.37£15,415.39
11/02/2021OB v MidtjyllandMidtjylland2.02£296.23-£296.23£15,119.16
11/02/2021Barnsley v ChelseaChelsea1.28£160.03-£160.03£14,959.13
12/02/2021Holstein Kiel v Wurzburger KickersHolstein Kiel1.64£483.83-£483.83£14,475.30
12/02/2021Celta Vigo v ElcheCelta Vigo1.54£674.83-£674.83£13,800.47
13/02/2021Granada v Atletico MadridAtletico Madrid1.84£1,628.17-£1,628.17£12,172.30
13/02/2021Paris St-G v NicePSG1.30£1,079.91-£1,079.91£11,092.39
13/02/2021Clermont v Chambly OiseClermont1.26£1,222.43-£1,222.43£9,869.96
13/02/2021Barcelona v AlavesBarcelona1.32£1,903.69-£1,903.69£7,966.27
14/02/2021West Brom v Man UtdMan Utd1.33£2,604.21£7,733.73£15,700.00
14/02/2021Moreirense v BenficaBenfica1.37£37.75£100.00£15,800.00

Review Summary

Despite building up a profit during our review, we decided to shut down our review early as we just weren't happy with the staking plan. The service uses an aggressive loss recovery system that is just destined for failure.

We're actually quite surprised that the platform would allow a tipster to recommend such a high risk staking system.

In each sequence, the target profit is £100 and all bets are lay bets on low priced favourites. If the bet wins (the named team loses or draws), £100 is banked. If it loses, the loss is added to the next stake as an attempt to recoup it.

At first it was going ok and even with a couple of losing bets, liabilities were still quite low due to the low odds. However, we felt uneasy from the start, as it was only a matter of time before this would go wrong.

We tracked bets from 3rd February and within a couple of weeks we had already had our first scare with a losing run of 11 bets. As you can imagine, liabilities added up quickly and for the 12th bet we were risking over £2,604.21, which was around 17% of the bank on one bet.

Worse than that, we had already lost £7,633.73 at this stage, so if this bet lost we would be in dire straits.

As it happens, the next bet actually won so we were back in a winning position, but that doesn't matter to us as our mind was already made up on this service.

Football King went down as an obvious fail and we would advise to steer clear of services using similar staking plans. It's a quick road to ruin!

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Laura Turner

About Laura

I have been running the 'Betting System Review' part of Goal Profits since 2015. I carry out fully independent reviews of betting and trading systems, tracking results and giving my honest feedback.

Here are some betting systems and services that earned a Pass rating when I reviewed them:

Crypto With Kash is a cryptocurrency recommendation service, delivering a fortnightly newsletter with the latest portfolio advice. Read our review here.

Read More

Our second trial of Football Bankbuilder turned out to be even better than the first one! Not only do we stand by our original rating, we feel even more confident about the system now.

Read More

We finished our GolfBetsGold review with 32.6 points profit at an ROI of 43.8%, which meant our bank had increased by a healthy 32.6% overall. It’s a pass!

Read More
Goal Profits

Are you ready to learn how profitable football trading works, generate a second income, or simply improve on past returns?

>