Football King Review: Laying the Favourite Tips

Football King Review

Football King is a "Lay the Favourite" tipping service that reported an ROI of 30% since it launched September 2020.

In the five months that the service had been running prior to our review, they were yet to have a losing month, averaging 12.7 points profit per month with a total of 63.4 points profit.

They say that their key to success is low liability laying with a high strike rate. There is often value to be found in underdogs and this service aims to capitalise on that.

The service uses a staking plan that is a little different to most services, with betting taking place in rounds. In each sequence there is a target profit of 1 point (after Betfair commission) and stakes increase if there is a losing bet.

There is a starting bank of 150 points advised and the stakes to use each day are stated at the top of the selections page.

Bets are released each day before 10.00am to a member's area and there aren't any emails, so it's just a case of remembering to login and check for tips each morning.

We kicked off our review once a new sequence had started, but as you will find out below, our review came to untimely end!


Before you continue...

Our Football King review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Football Winner Review: Match Odds Betting Tips Service
It's not often that we come across a profitable football tipster, but Football Winner managed to make the grade and delivered a total profit of 71.8 points overall.
Assured Soccer Profits Review: Correct Score Trading System
Assured Soccer Profits is a low-risk football trading strategy which focuses on the Betfair Correct Score market. We tested it out and here is our full review.
Early Odds Review: Horse Racing Betting Tips
Early Odds is a value horse racing betting service which banked a profit both times we trialled the results. We highly recommend taking a look at this tipster.

Results

We made a profit of £800 during our Football King review, based on following the tipster's staking plan of a £15,000 starting bank and a £100 target profit per sequence.

These results include a deduction of 2% Betfair commission.

The staking plan turned out to be far too risky for our liking, which we go into more detail on in our summary below.

DateMatchBet (Lay)Available OddsLiabilityP/LTotal
03/02/2021Burnley v Man CityMan City1.24£24.49-£24.49£14,975.51
03/02/2021Dijon v LyonLyon1.36£45.73-£45.73£14,929.78
04/02/2021Midtjylland v SonderjyskEMidtjylland1.43£74.69£170.22£15,100.00
04/02/2021Belenenses v PortoPorto1.44£44.90£100.00£15,200.00
04/02/2021Braga v PortimonenseBraga1.45£45.92-£45.92£15,154.08
06/02/2021Schalke 04 v RB LeipzigRB Leipzig1.35£52.12-£52.12£15,101.96
06/02/2021Elche v VillarrealVillarreal1.50£101.04£198.04£15,300.00
06/02/2021Genoa v NapoliNapoli1.85£86.73£100.00£15,400.00
07/02/2021Karlsruhe v Jahn RegensburgKarlsruhe2.18£120.41£100.00£15,500.00
07/02/2021AC Horsens v FC CopenhagenFC Copenhagen1.57£58.16-£58.16£15,441.84
07/02/2021Sheff Utd v ChelseaChelsea1.53£91.99-£91.99£15,349.85
08/02/2021Randers v MidtjyllandMidtjylland1.94£239.94-£239.94£15,109.91
08/02/2021Atletico Madrid v Celta VigoAtletico Madrid1.72£360.06£490.09£15,600.00
10/02/2021Grenoble v MonacoMonaco1.43£43.88-£43.88£15,556.12
10/02/2021Swansea v Man CityMan City1.20£29.36-£29.36£15,526.76
10/02/2021Sheff Utd v Bristol CitySheff Utd1.63£111.37-£111.37£15,415.39
11/02/2021OB v MidtjyllandMidtjylland2.02£296.23-£296.23£15,119.16
11/02/2021Barnsley v ChelseaChelsea1.28£160.03-£160.03£14,959.13
12/02/2021Holstein Kiel v Wurzburger KickersHolstein Kiel1.64£483.83-£483.83£14,475.30
12/02/2021Celta Vigo v ElcheCelta Vigo1.54£674.83-£674.83£13,800.47
13/02/2021Granada v Atletico MadridAtletico Madrid1.84£1,628.17-£1,628.17£12,172.30
13/02/2021Paris St-G v NicePSG1.30£1,079.91-£1,079.91£11,092.39
13/02/2021Clermont v Chambly OiseClermont1.26£1,222.43-£1,222.43£9,869.96
13/02/2021Barcelona v AlavesBarcelona1.32£1,903.69-£1,903.69£7,966.27
14/02/2021West Brom v Man UtdMan Utd1.33£2,604.21£7,733.73£15,700.00
14/02/2021Moreirense v BenficaBenfica1.37£37.75£100.00£15,800.00

Review Summary

Despite building up a profit during our review, we decided to shut down our review early as we just weren't happy with the staking plan. The service uses an aggressive loss recovery system that is just destined for failure.

We're actually quite surprised that the platform would allow a tipster to recommend such a high risk staking system.

In each sequence, the target profit is £100 and all bets are lay bets on low priced favourites. If the bet wins (the named team loses or draws), £100 is banked. If it loses, the loss is added to the next stake as an attempt to recoup it.

At first it was going ok and even with a couple of losing bets, liabilities were still quite low due to the low odds. However, we felt uneasy from the start, as it was only a matter of time before this would go wrong.

We tracked bets from 3rd February and within a couple of weeks we had already had our first scare with a losing run of 11 bets. As you can imagine, liabilities added up quickly and for the 12th bet we were risking over £2,604.21, which was around 17% of the bank on one bet.

Worse than that, we had already lost £7,633.73 at this stage, so if this bet lost we would be in dire straits.

As it happens, the next bet actually won so we were back in a winning position, but that doesn't matter to us as our mind was already made up on this service.

Football King went down as an obvious fail and we would advise to steer clear of services using similar staking plans. It's a quick road to ruin!


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Pre-Match Trading Review: Football Scalping Tool
Pre-Match Trading is software which highlights potential scalping opportunities for football matches on Betfair. During our trial, Dave made £76.72 profit.
Merlin Results Radar Review: Treble Betting System
In our Merlin Results Radar review we were able to make a profit of 47.82 points from 12 sets of trebles, making it a "pass" for this excel based betting system.
Jolly Lock IP Review: Stop Those Snooping Bookies
Have you ever been bonus banned, had stakes limited or even had your account shut down at an online bookmaker? Well, Jolly Lock IP is a virtual desktop that has been designed to combat this problem by completely blocking any spyware and protecting you from the bookie’s prying eyes. Click here now to read our full review.
Geegeez Gold Review: Racecard and Horse Racing Form Tools
Matt Bisogno and his team believe that horse racing punters deserve so much more. Introducing Geegeez Gold, a revolutionary collection of racecard and form tools.
Caan Berry Video Pack Course Review: Horse Racing Trading
Our review of Professional Betfair trader Caan Berry's video pack course, complete with strategies and techniques to trade Betfair horse racing markets.
Banker Bets Value Picks Review: Football Betting Tips
We have been following John Baker's Banker Bets Value Picks service since the beginning of the winter football season and after witnessing 3 out of 4 profitable months, a total of profit of 17.08 points and a 42.7% increase to our bank, we are happy to award a pass rating.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.