Football King Review: Laying the Favourite Tips

Football King Review

Football King is a "Lay the Favourite" tipping service that reported an ROI of 30% since it launched September 2020.

In the five months that the service had been running prior to our review, they were yet to have a losing month, averaging 12.7 points profit per month with a total of 63.4 points profit.

They say that their key to success is low liability laying with a high strike rate. There is often value to be found in underdogs and this service aims to capitalise on that.

The service uses a staking plan that is a little different to most services, with betting taking place in rounds. In each sequence there is a target profit of 1 point (after Betfair commission) and stakes increase if there is a losing bet.

There is a starting bank of 150 points advised and the stakes to use each day are stated at the top of the selections page.

Bets are released each day before 10.00am to a member's area and there aren't any emails, so it's just a case of remembering to login and check for tips each morning.

We kicked off our review once a new sequence had started, but as you will find out below, our review came to untimely end!


Before you continue...

Our Football King review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

CopyBet Review: Automated Betfair Tipster Betting
Like the idea of being able to automatically copy someone else's bets? In our CopyBet review we go through the main features of this social betting platform.
Merlin Results Radar Review: Treble Betting System
In our Merlin Results Radar review we were able to make a profit of 47.82 points from 12 sets of trebles, making it a "pass" for this excel based betting system.
Each Way Value Tips Review: Horse Racing Betting Service
Each Way Value Tips was regularly topping the leader board for overall profit and boasted a higher long-term ROI than many of the other established horse racing tipsters at the time. It was easy to see why with an overall profit of 108.69 points at an ROI of 12.4% at the end of our four month review.

Results

We made a profit of £800 during our Football King review, based on following the tipster's staking plan of a £15,000 starting bank and a £100 target profit per sequence.

These results include a deduction of 2% Betfair commission.

The staking plan turned out to be far too risky for our liking, which we go into more detail on in our summary below.

DateMatchBet (Lay)Available OddsLiabilityP/LTotal
03/02/2021Burnley v Man CityMan City1.24£24.49-£24.49£14,975.51
03/02/2021Dijon v LyonLyon1.36£45.73-£45.73£14,929.78
04/02/2021Midtjylland v SonderjyskEMidtjylland1.43£74.69£170.22£15,100.00
04/02/2021Belenenses v PortoPorto1.44£44.90£100.00£15,200.00
04/02/2021Braga v PortimonenseBraga1.45£45.92-£45.92£15,154.08
06/02/2021Schalke 04 v RB LeipzigRB Leipzig1.35£52.12-£52.12£15,101.96
06/02/2021Elche v VillarrealVillarreal1.50£101.04£198.04£15,300.00
06/02/2021Genoa v NapoliNapoli1.85£86.73£100.00£15,400.00
07/02/2021Karlsruhe v Jahn RegensburgKarlsruhe2.18£120.41£100.00£15,500.00
07/02/2021AC Horsens v FC CopenhagenFC Copenhagen1.57£58.16-£58.16£15,441.84
07/02/2021Sheff Utd v ChelseaChelsea1.53£91.99-£91.99£15,349.85
08/02/2021Randers v MidtjyllandMidtjylland1.94£239.94-£239.94£15,109.91
08/02/2021Atletico Madrid v Celta VigoAtletico Madrid1.72£360.06£490.09£15,600.00
10/02/2021Grenoble v MonacoMonaco1.43£43.88-£43.88£15,556.12
10/02/2021Swansea v Man CityMan City1.20£29.36-£29.36£15,526.76
10/02/2021Sheff Utd v Bristol CitySheff Utd1.63£111.37-£111.37£15,415.39
11/02/2021OB v MidtjyllandMidtjylland2.02£296.23-£296.23£15,119.16
11/02/2021Barnsley v ChelseaChelsea1.28£160.03-£160.03£14,959.13
12/02/2021Holstein Kiel v Wurzburger KickersHolstein Kiel1.64£483.83-£483.83£14,475.30
12/02/2021Celta Vigo v ElcheCelta Vigo1.54£674.83-£674.83£13,800.47
13/02/2021Granada v Atletico MadridAtletico Madrid1.84£1,628.17-£1,628.17£12,172.30
13/02/2021Paris St-G v NicePSG1.30£1,079.91-£1,079.91£11,092.39
13/02/2021Clermont v Chambly OiseClermont1.26£1,222.43-£1,222.43£9,869.96
13/02/2021Barcelona v AlavesBarcelona1.32£1,903.69-£1,903.69£7,966.27
14/02/2021West Brom v Man UtdMan Utd1.33£2,604.21£7,733.73£15,700.00
14/02/2021Moreirense v BenficaBenfica1.37£37.75£100.00£15,800.00

Review Summary

Despite building up a profit during our review, we decided to shut down our review early as we just weren't happy with the staking plan. The service uses an aggressive loss recovery system that is just destined for failure.

We're actually quite surprised that the platform would allow a tipster to recommend such a high risk staking system.

In each sequence, the target profit is £100 and all bets are lay bets on low priced favourites. If the bet wins (the named team loses or draws), £100 is banked. If it loses, the loss is added to the next stake as an attempt to recoup it.

At first it was going ok and even with a couple of losing bets, liabilities were still quite low due to the low odds. However, we felt uneasy from the start, as it was only a matter of time before this would go wrong.

We tracked bets from 3rd February and within a couple of weeks we had already had our first scare with a losing run of 11 bets. As you can imagine, liabilities added up quickly and for the 12th bet we were risking over £2,604.21, which was around 17% of the bank on one bet.

Worse than that, we had already lost £7,633.73 at this stage, so if this bet lost we would be in dire straits.

As it happens, the next bet actually won so we were back in a winning position, but that doesn't matter to us as our mind was already made up on this service.

Football King went down as an obvious fail and we would advise to steer clear of services using similar staking plans. It's a quick road to ruin!


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Little Acorns Gold Review: Horse Racing Lay Betting System
Little Acorns Gold is horse laying system, with all bets sent out to you daily. We made consistent profits during our eight month review and awarded a pass!
Bonus Bagging Review: Easy & Risk-Free Matched Betting
During our Bonus Bagging review, we tested Mike Cruickshank's matched betting service. It shows you exactly how to make risk-free profits from bookie bonuses - it even finds them for you! We completed 16 bookie sign up offers and made £341.41 profit in just one month!
Football Bankbuilder Review: Lay Betting System
Our second trial of Football Bankbuilder turned out to be even better than the first one! Not only do we stand by our original rating, we feel even more confident about the system now.
The Goat Review: Tennis Tipping Service
We're not sure if The Goat is an acronym or a highly intelligent goat, but this tipster sure knows their tennis, achieving a 6.8% ROI during our review.
Racecracker Review: Low Stakes Horse Racing Tips Service
Racecracker is a horse racing tips service designed with the average punter in mind. We made £245.32 profit after fees using modest £10 stakes during our review.
Profit Maximiser Review: Low-Risk Matched Betting
Profit Maximiser shows you how to profit from sports/casino/bingo promotions. During our review, we banked £391.12 profit and it really couldn't have been any easier!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.