Football King Review: Laying the Favourite Tips

Football King Review

Football King is a "Lay the Favourite" tipping service that reported an ROI of 30% since it launched September 2020.

In the five months that the service had been running prior to our review, they were yet to have a losing month, averaging 12.7 points profit per month with a total of 63.4 points profit.

They say that their key to success is low liability laying with a high strike rate. There is often value to be found in underdogs and this service aims to capitalise on that.

The service uses a staking plan that is a little different to most services, with betting taking place in rounds. In each sequence there is a target profit of 1 point (after Betfair commission) and stakes increase if there is a losing bet.

There is a starting bank of 150 points advised and the stakes to use each day are stated at the top of the selections page.

Bets are released each day before 10.00am to a member's area and there aren't any emails, so it's just a case of remembering to login and check for tips each morning.

We kicked off our review once a new sequence had started, but as you will find out below, our review came to untimely end!


Before you continue...

Our Football King review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Assured Soccer Profits Review: Correct Score Trading System
Assured Soccer Profits is a low-risk football trading strategy which focuses on the Betfair Correct Score market. We tested it out and here is our full review.
Value Tips Review: Horse Racing Value Bet Scanning Software
The Value Tips service identifies horse racing value bets. During our three month review, we banked 32.68 points profit with most of it coming from the scanning software.
Magic Soccer Bot Review: Football Betting Software
Magic Soccer Bot automates lay betting on Betfair correct score markets. We trialled it for three months and made 16.5 points profit with very little effort.

Results

We made a profit of £800 during our Football King review, based on following the tipster's staking plan of a £15,000 starting bank and a £100 target profit per sequence.

These results include a deduction of 2% Betfair commission.

The staking plan turned out to be far too risky for our liking, which we go into more detail on in our summary below.

DateMatchBet (Lay)Available OddsLiabilityP/LTotal
03/02/2021Burnley v Man CityMan City1.24£24.49-£24.49£14,975.51
03/02/2021Dijon v LyonLyon1.36£45.73-£45.73£14,929.78
04/02/2021Midtjylland v SonderjyskEMidtjylland1.43£74.69£170.22£15,100.00
04/02/2021Belenenses v PortoPorto1.44£44.90£100.00£15,200.00
04/02/2021Braga v PortimonenseBraga1.45£45.92-£45.92£15,154.08
06/02/2021Schalke 04 v RB LeipzigRB Leipzig1.35£52.12-£52.12£15,101.96
06/02/2021Elche v VillarrealVillarreal1.50£101.04£198.04£15,300.00
06/02/2021Genoa v NapoliNapoli1.85£86.73£100.00£15,400.00
07/02/2021Karlsruhe v Jahn RegensburgKarlsruhe2.18£120.41£100.00£15,500.00
07/02/2021AC Horsens v FC CopenhagenFC Copenhagen1.57£58.16-£58.16£15,441.84
07/02/2021Sheff Utd v ChelseaChelsea1.53£91.99-£91.99£15,349.85
08/02/2021Randers v MidtjyllandMidtjylland1.94£239.94-£239.94£15,109.91
08/02/2021Atletico Madrid v Celta VigoAtletico Madrid1.72£360.06£490.09£15,600.00
10/02/2021Grenoble v MonacoMonaco1.43£43.88-£43.88£15,556.12
10/02/2021Swansea v Man CityMan City1.20£29.36-£29.36£15,526.76
10/02/2021Sheff Utd v Bristol CitySheff Utd1.63£111.37-£111.37£15,415.39
11/02/2021OB v MidtjyllandMidtjylland2.02£296.23-£296.23£15,119.16
11/02/2021Barnsley v ChelseaChelsea1.28£160.03-£160.03£14,959.13
12/02/2021Holstein Kiel v Wurzburger KickersHolstein Kiel1.64£483.83-£483.83£14,475.30
12/02/2021Celta Vigo v ElcheCelta Vigo1.54£674.83-£674.83£13,800.47
13/02/2021Granada v Atletico MadridAtletico Madrid1.84£1,628.17-£1,628.17£12,172.30
13/02/2021Paris St-G v NicePSG1.30£1,079.91-£1,079.91£11,092.39
13/02/2021Clermont v Chambly OiseClermont1.26£1,222.43-£1,222.43£9,869.96
13/02/2021Barcelona v AlavesBarcelona1.32£1,903.69-£1,903.69£7,966.27
14/02/2021West Brom v Man UtdMan Utd1.33£2,604.21£7,733.73£15,700.00
14/02/2021Moreirense v BenficaBenfica1.37£37.75£100.00£15,800.00

Review Summary

Despite building up a profit during our review, we decided to shut down our review early as we just weren't happy with the staking plan. The service uses an aggressive loss recovery system that is just destined for failure.

We're actually quite surprised that the platform would allow a tipster to recommend such a high risk staking system.

In each sequence, the target profit is £100 and all bets are lay bets on low priced favourites. If the bet wins (the named team loses or draws), £100 is banked. If it loses, the loss is added to the next stake as an attempt to recoup it.

At first it was going ok and even with a couple of losing bets, liabilities were still quite low due to the low odds. However, we felt uneasy from the start, as it was only a matter of time before this would go wrong.

We tracked bets from 3rd February and within a couple of weeks we had already had our first scare with a losing run of 11 bets. As you can imagine, liabilities added up quickly and for the 12th bet we were risking over £2,604.21, which was around 17% of the bank on one bet.

Worse than that, we had already lost £7,633.73 at this stage, so if this bet lost we would be in dire straits.

As it happens, the next bet actually won so we were back in a winning position, but that doesn't matter to us as our mind was already made up on this service.

Football King went down as an obvious fail and we would advise to steer clear of services using similar staking plans. It's a quick road to ruin!


Other Systems and Services which Passed

L7N Longshots Review: High Odds Betting Tips
We reviewed L7N Longshots each way horse tipping service for three months and they gave us a great profit of £1014.70, which was an average of £338 per month using £10 stakes. At an ROI of 25.3%, we awarded them with an easy pass rating.
Race D Base Review: Horse Racing Statistics Software
Race D Base is ideal for analysing data and creating your own horse racing betting systems. It is essentially a database which compiles historical and daily data from a number of sources.
The Inside Man Review: Football Betting Tips Service
The Inside Man, or Adam Cheng as he's better known, proved that his experience within the industry has given him an edge against the bookmakers, delivering £646.50 profit at an ROI of 11.8%.
Winning Footy Tips Review: Profitable Football Tipster
Winning Footy Tips banked 33.01 points profit (45.8% ROI) during our review. This football tipster offers a guarantee so you can follow risk-free for 60 days.
Football Accumulator Tips Review: Acca Betting Service
Football Accumulator Tips delivered consistent profits at an impressive 20% ROI. That was higher than any other football tips services that we had reviewed to date.
Assured Soccer Profits Review: Correct Score Trading System
Assured Soccer Profits is a low-risk football trading strategy which focuses on the Betfair Correct Score market. We tested it out and here is our full review.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.