Value Backing Review: Horse Racing Tipping Service

value-backing-horse-betting-review-image

Value Backing is a horse racing tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races.

The standard VB selections claimed some impressive profits during 2012-2014. From 345 selections they generated a profit of 148.22pts with a huge ROI of 42.17%

Value Backing is brought to you by Carl Nicholson, a Harvard University graduate with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science. He started out in the horseracing industry working for the Daily Racing Form in the USA.

The selections are emailed out in the morning along with the advised odds. On average there are only of 8-10 bets per month and they are generally priced at long odds. They are a mixture of win and sometimes each-way bets for the bigger prices.

We would expect to see some long losing streaks, but Carl only needs a low strike rate to be able to make a profit.

We tracked results for four months and started with the standard 100pt bank with 1% stake per bet.


Before you continue...

Our Value Backing review ended with a neutral rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Super Sports Bot Review: Automated Multi-Sports Betting Bot
Super Sports Bot automates betting for many sports including tennis, cricket and American sports. Our reviewer made £47.86 profit in just two months.
Bonus Bagging Review: Easy & Risk-Free Matched Betting
During our Bonus Bagging review, we tested Mike Cruickshank's matched betting service. It shows you exactly how to make risk-free profits from bookie bonuses - it even finds them for you! We completed 16 bookie sign up offers and made £341.41 profit in just one month!
L7N Longshots Review: High Odds Betting Tips
We reviewed L7N Longshots each way horse tipping service for three months and they gave us a great profit of £1014.70, which was an average of £338 per month using £10 stakes. At an ROI of 25.3%, we awarded them with an easy pass rating.

Month One Results

Our first month ended with a small loss of 3 points. We also recorded the results at Betfair SP, which showed a loss of -7.85pts.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets14418
Profit/Loss (pts)+1.00-4.00-3.00
Average Odds12.1121.7514.25
Strike Rate7.1%0.0%5.56%
ROI7.1%-100%-16.7%
Bank97.0

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
07/11/15Doncaster13:50Withernsea1.0015.0014.0014.00
07/11/15Wincanton15:15Francis Of Assisi1.007.50-1.0013.00
13/11/15Cheltenham13:05The Clock Leary1.0013.00-1.0012.00
13/11/15Cheltenham14:50Any Currency1.009.00-1.0011.00
14/11/15Cheltenham13:50Spring Heeled1.0015.00-1.0010.00
14/11/15Cheltenham15:00Morito Du Berlais1.0017.00-1.009.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Shantou Bob1.007.00-1.008.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Low Key e/w1.0026.00-1.007.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:05Beltor1.0010.00-1.006.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:40Virak1.008.00-1.005.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Soll1.0012.00-1.004.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Thunder and Roses1.0010.00-1.003.00
05/12/15Sandown14:25Vicenzo Mio1.007.00-1.002.00
05/12/15Sandown15:35Just A Par1.0013.00-1.001.00
VB Extra Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
15/11/15Cheltenham15:15Jansboy e/w1.0034.00-1.00-1.00
22/11/15Uttoxeter14:50Ravens Brook1.0011.00-1.00-2.00
26/11/15Taunton16:00Double Accord1.008.00-1.00-3.00
27/11/15Newbury13:30Gevrey Chambertin e/w1.0034.00-1.00-4.00

Month Two Results

We completed the second month of our Value Backing review and banked a small 2.6pts profit with ROI of 14.4%. At Betfair SP the service made a profit of 4.37 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets10818
Profit/Loss (pts)5.50-2.902.6
Average Odds11.2013.012.0
Strike Rate20%25%22.2%
ROI55%-36.3%14.4%
Bank99.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
12/12/15Cheltenham15:35Blue Buttons1.007.00-1.000.00
19/12/15Ascot15:00Gullinbursti1.0017.00-1.00-1.00
19/12/15Ascot15:35Jollys Cracked It1.008.007.006.00
26/12/15Kempton13:25Sirabad1.006.00-1.005.00
27/12/15Kempton14:35The Last Samuri1.007.506.5011.50
01/01/16Cheltenham13:55Tenor Nivernais1.007.50-1.0010.50
01/01/16Cheltenham14:30Sybarite1.0029.00-1.009.50
01/01/16Musselburgh13:35Quito Du Tresor1.0013.00-1.008.50
01/01/16Musselburgh14:10Strongpoint1.009.00-1.007.50
02/01/16Sandown13:50Just Cameron1.008.00-1.006.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
11/12/15Doncaster12:45Park Place1.009.00-1.00-5.00
11/12/15Doncaster15:30Hidden Justice1.0013.00-1.00-6.00
16/12/15Newbury12:40Minella On Line1.0012.00-1.00-7.00
16/12/15Ludlow14:40Red Devil Lads1.009.00-1.00-8.00
17/12/15Towcester15:40Sweetlittlekitty1.008.00-1.00-9.00
26/12/15Fontwell14:05Highsalvia Cosmos e/w1.0017.001.10-7.90
05/01/16Southwell15:40Ciaras Cookie1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
06/01/16Huntingdon14:40King Muro e/w1.0021.002.00-6.90

Month Three Results

9 bets and 9 losses meant another dent in the bank of -14 points. An overall loss for our review of -14.4 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets91524
Profit/Loss (pts)-9.00-5.00-14.00
Average Odds13.3910.8311.81
Strike Rate0.00%13.3%8.33%
ROI-100%-35.7%-60.9%
Bank85.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
08/01/16Lingfield13:35First Summer1.0013.00-1.005.50
09/01/16Chepstow13:45Portrait King e/w1.0029.00-1.004.50
09/01/16Chepstow14:55Wizards Bridge1.005.00-1.003.50
16/01/16Wetherby14:05Mwaleshi1.007.50-1.002.50
16/01/16Warwick15:35Houblan Des Obeaux1.0010.00-1.001.50
21/01/16Wincanton14:45Leo Luna1.0011.00-1.000.50
23/01/16Ascot14:25Lil Rockerfeller1.0013.00-1.00-0.50
23/01/16Ascot15:35Bennys Mist1.0015.00-1.00-1.50
30/01/16Doncaster15:15Double Ross1.0017.00-1.00-2.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
07/01/16Lingfield15:20Comadoir1.009.00-1.00-7.90
13/01/16Taunton15:10The Brock Again1.005.50-1.00-8.90
14/01/16Chelmsford19:40Black Vale e/w1.0015.00-1.00-9.90
15/01/16Wolverhampton16:45Oriental Realtion e/w1.0017.001.50-8.40
20/01/16Kempton19:10Clement1.009.00-1.00-9.40
25/01/16Kempton15:45Barrakilla1.005.00-1.00-10.40
26/01/16Southwell14:05Roger Thorpe0.507.00-0.50-10.90
26/01/16Southwell14:05Excelling Oscar0.5012.00-0.50-11.40
27/01/16Catterick16:05Deny1.0010.00-1.00-12.40
28/01/16Warwick14:55The Boss's Dream1.006.505.50-6.90
29/01/16Huntingdon14:10Sonofagun1.007.00-1.00-7.90
02/02/16Southwell16:30Princess Peaches1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
03/02/16Newcastle14:00Frank The Slink1.0026.00-1.00-9.90
03/02/16Ludlow16:30Hill Fort1.0011.00-1.00-10.90
05/02/16Catterick13:50Bennylicious1.008.00-1.00-11.90

Month Four Results

A profit to end our Value Backing review as the service banked 15.5 points to give us an overall small profit of 1.1 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets393776
Profit/Loss (pts)+8.00-6.90+1.10
Average Odds11.6512.8512.24
Strike Rate12.8%13.5%13.2%
ROI20.5%-19.2%1.47%
Bank101.10

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
06/02/16Sandown15:00Sadlers Encore1.007.506.504.00
06/02/16Sandown15:30Unioniste1.008.00-1.003.00
13/02/16Newbury13:50Sykes1.005.00-1.002.00
20/02/16Haydock14:40Bishops Road1.009.008.0010.00
27/02/16Kempton15:35Roc D Aapsis1.0021.00-1.009.00
05/03/16Doncaster15:45Drop Out Joe1.005.00-1.008.00
08/02/16Musselburgh15:30Claude Carter1.0013.00-1.00-12.90
09/02/16Sedgefield15:25Heart O Annandale1.007.00-1.00-13.90
14/02/16Southwell15:20Jaarih1.0010.00-1.00-14.90
15/02/16Catterick15:40Its A Mans World1.0011.00-1.00-15.90
15/02/16Wolverhampton16:20Whispering Warrior1.0010.00-1.00-16.90
16/02/16Southwell15:05Llewellyn1.0012.00-1.00-17.90
16/02/16Ayr16:05Willie Hall1.0013.00-1.00-18.90
17/02/16Musselburgh15:25Danceintothelight1.0015.0014.00-4.90
19/02/16Lingfield14:20Malaysian Boleh1.0013.00-1.00-5.90
03/03/16Southwell13:45Feelin Dicky e/w1.0017.00-1.00-6.90

Review Summary

Value Backing made a small overall profit of 1.1 points. Nothing to get too excited about but being as there was no overall loss, we feel the service deserves a Neutral rating.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Predictology Review: Football System Builder and Tips
Predictology is a football betting strategy builder that allows you to analyse 300,000+ matches to find profitable bets in a matter of seconds.
Winning Footy Tips Review: Profitable Football Tipster
Winning Footy Tips banked 33.01 points profit (45.8% ROI) during our review. This football tipster offers a guarantee so you can follow risk-free for 60 days.
Bets For Today VIP Review: Betting Tips Package
Bets For Today VIP turned out to be a profitable set of betting systems, making 30.16 points profit during our three month review at an ROI of 9.3%. It gets a pass from us!
Caan Berry Video Pack Course Review: Horse Racing Trading
Our review of Professional Betfair trader Caan Berry's video pack course, complete with strategies and techniques to trade Betfair horse racing markets.
ITV Racing Tips Review: Value Bets for Big TV Race Meetings
ITV Racing Tips concentrates on the big TV meetings and includes detailed analysis for each bet in every race shown on ITV. We banked 51.55 points profit (29.8% ROI) during our review and the service was also profitable at BSP.
Racecracker Review: Low Stakes Horse Racing Tips Service
Racecracker is a horse racing tips service designed with the average punter in mind. We made £245.32 profit after fees using modest £10 stakes during our review.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3 stars

  • Value Backing
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 2nd April 2020

Value Backing is a horse betting tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races. We tracked results for four months and recorded the progress.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.