Value Backing Review: Horse Racing Tipping Service

value-backing-horse-betting-review-image

Value Backing is a horse racing tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races.

The standard VB selections claimed some impressive profits during 2012-2014. From 345 selections they generated a profit of 148.22pts with a huge ROI of 42.17%

Value Backing is brought to you by Carl Nicholson, a Harvard University graduate with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science. He started out in the horseracing industry working for the Daily Racing Form in the USA.

The selections are emailed out in the morning along with the advised odds. On average there are only of 8-10 bets per month and they are generally priced at long odds. They are a mixture of win and sometimes each-way bets for the bigger prices.

We would expect to see some long losing streaks, but Carl only needs a low strike rate to be able to make a profit.

We tracked results for four months and started with the standard 100pt bank with 1% stake per bet.


Before you continue...

Our Value Backing review ended with a neutral rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

L7N Longshots Review: High Odds Betting Tips
We reviewed L7N Longshots each way horse tipping service for three months and with a ROI of 25.3% achieved, we awarded them with a pass rating.
RaceStatsApp Review: Horse Racing Betting & Analytics App
RaceStatsApp have redefined horse racing betting by focusing on using advanced horse racing data & analytics rather than horse, jockey or trainer form.
The Inside Man Review: Football Betting Tips Service
The Inside Man, or Adam Cheng as he's better known, proved that his experience within the industry has given him an edge against the bookmakers, delivering £646.50 profit at an ROI of 11.8%.

Month One Results

Our first month ended with a small loss of 3 points. We also recorded the results at Betfair SP, which showed a loss of -7.85pts.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets14418
Profit/Loss (pts)+1.00-4.00-3.00
Average Odds12.1121.7514.25
Strike Rate7.1%0.0%5.56%
ROI7.1%-100%-16.7%
Bank97.0

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
07/11/15Doncaster13:50Withernsea1.0015.0014.0014.00
07/11/15Wincanton15:15Francis Of Assisi1.007.50-1.0013.00
13/11/15Cheltenham13:05The Clock Leary1.0013.00-1.0012.00
13/11/15Cheltenham14:50Any Currency1.009.00-1.0011.00
14/11/15Cheltenham13:50Spring Heeled1.0015.00-1.0010.00
14/11/15Cheltenham15:00Morito Du Berlais1.0017.00-1.009.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Shantou Bob1.007.00-1.008.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Low Key e/w1.0026.00-1.007.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:05Beltor1.0010.00-1.006.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:40Virak1.008.00-1.005.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Soll1.0012.00-1.004.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Thunder and Roses1.0010.00-1.003.00
05/12/15Sandown14:25Vicenzo Mio1.007.00-1.002.00
05/12/15Sandown15:35Just A Par1.0013.00-1.001.00
VB Extra Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
15/11/15Cheltenham15:15Jansboy e/w1.0034.00-1.00-1.00
22/11/15Uttoxeter14:50Ravens Brook1.0011.00-1.00-2.00
26/11/15Taunton16:00Double Accord1.008.00-1.00-3.00
27/11/15Newbury13:30Gevrey Chambertin e/w1.0034.00-1.00-4.00

Month Two Results

We completed the second month of our Value Backing review and banked a small 2.6pts profit with ROI of 14.4%. At Betfair SP the service made a profit of 4.37 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets10818
Profit/Loss (pts)5.50-2.902.6
Average Odds11.2013.012.0
Strike Rate20%25%22.2%
ROI55%-36.3%14.4%
Bank99.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
12/12/15Cheltenham15:35Blue Buttons1.007.00-1.000.00
19/12/15Ascot15:00Gullinbursti1.0017.00-1.00-1.00
19/12/15Ascot15:35Jollys Cracked It1.008.007.006.00
26/12/15Kempton13:25Sirabad1.006.00-1.005.00
27/12/15Kempton14:35The Last Samuri1.007.506.5011.50
01/01/16Cheltenham13:55Tenor Nivernais1.007.50-1.0010.50
01/01/16Cheltenham14:30Sybarite1.0029.00-1.009.50
01/01/16Musselburgh13:35Quito Du Tresor1.0013.00-1.008.50
01/01/16Musselburgh14:10Strongpoint1.009.00-1.007.50
02/01/16Sandown13:50Just Cameron1.008.00-1.006.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
11/12/15Doncaster12:45Park Place1.009.00-1.00-5.00
11/12/15Doncaster15:30Hidden Justice1.0013.00-1.00-6.00
16/12/15Newbury12:40Minella On Line1.0012.00-1.00-7.00
16/12/15Ludlow14:40Red Devil Lads1.009.00-1.00-8.00
17/12/15Towcester15:40Sweetlittlekitty1.008.00-1.00-9.00
26/12/15Fontwell14:05Highsalvia Cosmos e/w1.0017.001.10-7.90
05/01/16Southwell15:40Ciaras Cookie1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
06/01/16Huntingdon14:40King Muro e/w1.0021.002.00-6.90

Month Three Results

9 bets and 9 losses meant another dent in the bank of -14 points. An overall loss for our review of -14.4 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets91524
Profit/Loss (pts)-9.00-5.00-14.00
Average Odds13.3910.8311.81
Strike Rate0.00%13.3%8.33%
ROI-100%-35.7%-60.9%
Bank85.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
08/01/16Lingfield13:35First Summer1.0013.00-1.005.50
09/01/16Chepstow13:45Portrait King e/w1.0029.00-1.004.50
09/01/16Chepstow14:55Wizards Bridge1.005.00-1.003.50
16/01/16Wetherby14:05Mwaleshi1.007.50-1.002.50
16/01/16Warwick15:35Houblan Des Obeaux1.0010.00-1.001.50
21/01/16Wincanton14:45Leo Luna1.0011.00-1.000.50
23/01/16Ascot14:25Lil Rockerfeller1.0013.00-1.00-0.50
23/01/16Ascot15:35Bennys Mist1.0015.00-1.00-1.50
30/01/16Doncaster15:15Double Ross1.0017.00-1.00-2.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
07/01/16Lingfield15:20Comadoir1.009.00-1.00-7.90
13/01/16Taunton15:10The Brock Again1.005.50-1.00-8.90
14/01/16Chelmsford19:40Black Vale e/w1.0015.00-1.00-9.90
15/01/16Wolverhampton16:45Oriental Realtion e/w1.0017.001.50-8.40
20/01/16Kempton19:10Clement1.009.00-1.00-9.40
25/01/16Kempton15:45Barrakilla1.005.00-1.00-10.40
26/01/16Southwell14:05Roger Thorpe0.507.00-0.50-10.90
26/01/16Southwell14:05Excelling Oscar0.5012.00-0.50-11.40
27/01/16Catterick16:05Deny1.0010.00-1.00-12.40
28/01/16Warwick14:55The Boss's Dream1.006.505.50-6.90
29/01/16Huntingdon14:10Sonofagun1.007.00-1.00-7.90
02/02/16Southwell16:30Princess Peaches1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
03/02/16Newcastle14:00Frank The Slink1.0026.00-1.00-9.90
03/02/16Ludlow16:30Hill Fort1.0011.00-1.00-10.90
05/02/16Catterick13:50Bennylicious1.008.00-1.00-11.90

Month Four Results

A profit to end our Value Backing review as the service banked 15.5 points to give us an overall small profit of 1.1 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets393776
Profit/Loss (pts)+8.00-6.90+1.10
Average Odds11.6512.8512.24
Strike Rate12.8%13.5%13.2%
ROI20.5%-19.2%1.47%
Bank101.10

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
06/02/16Sandown15:00Sadlers Encore1.007.506.504.00
06/02/16Sandown15:30Unioniste1.008.00-1.003.00
13/02/16Newbury13:50Sykes1.005.00-1.002.00
20/02/16Haydock14:40Bishops Road1.009.008.0010.00
27/02/16Kempton15:35Roc D Aapsis1.0021.00-1.009.00
05/03/16Doncaster15:45Drop Out Joe1.005.00-1.008.00
08/02/16Musselburgh15:30Claude Carter1.0013.00-1.00-12.90
09/02/16Sedgefield15:25Heart O Annandale1.007.00-1.00-13.90
14/02/16Southwell15:20Jaarih1.0010.00-1.00-14.90
15/02/16Catterick15:40Its A Mans World1.0011.00-1.00-15.90
15/02/16Wolverhampton16:20Whispering Warrior1.0010.00-1.00-16.90
16/02/16Southwell15:05Llewellyn1.0012.00-1.00-17.90
16/02/16Ayr16:05Willie Hall1.0013.00-1.00-18.90
17/02/16Musselburgh15:25Danceintothelight1.0015.0014.00-4.90
19/02/16Lingfield14:20Malaysian Boleh1.0013.00-1.00-5.90
03/03/16Southwell13:45Feelin Dicky e/w1.0017.00-1.00-6.90

Review Summary

Value Backing made a small overall profit of 1.1 points. Nothing to get too excited about but being as there was no overall loss, we feel the service deserves a Neutral rating.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Little Acorns International Review: US Racing Lay Bet System
It was an easy decision to give Little Acorns International a pass after 5 out of 5 months of profit at both the level and Fibonacci staking systems.
Trademate Sports Review: Value Betting Software
We made £17,685 profit in our Trademate Sports review, the web-based software that finds value bets for a variety of sports based on your chosen filters.
Betting Mastermind Review: Ultimate Matched Betting Package
Betting Mastermind has been dubbed as the ultimate matched betting package with a collection of sixteen systems and tools designed by Mike Cruickshank.
PounceBet Review: Automated Betfair System
PounceBet Auto Pounce is an automated Betfair betting app that trades profitable opportunities in-play. We made £861.93 profit from it in our four month review!
Pre-Match Trading Review: Web-based Football Scalping Tool
Pre-Match Trading is software that highlights potential scalping opportunities for football matches on Betfair. We made £76.72 profit from it during our review.
Predictology Review: Daily Tips & Football System Builder
Predictology is a football betting strategy builder that allows you to analyse 300,000+ matches to find profitable bets in a matter of seconds.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3 stars

  • Value Backing
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 2nd April 2020

Value Backing is a horse betting tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races. We tracked results for four months and recorded the progress.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.