Value Backing Review: Horse Racing Tipping Service

value-backing-horse-betting-review-image

Value Backing is a horse racing tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races.

The standard VB selections claimed some impressive profits during 2012-2014. From 345 selections they generated a profit of 148.22pts with a huge ROI of 42.17%

Value Backing is brought to you by Carl Nicholson, a Harvard University graduate with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science. He started out in the horseracing industry working for the Daily Racing Form in the USA.

The selections are emailed out in the morning along with the advised odds. On average there are only of 8-10 bets per month and they are generally priced at long odds. They are a mixture of win and sometimes each-way bets for the bigger prices.

We would expect to see some long losing streaks, but Carl only needs a low strike rate to be able to make a profit.

We tracked results for four months and started with the standard 100pt bank with 1% stake per bet.


Before you continue...

Our Value Backing review ended with a neutral rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Each Way Sniper Review: Low-Risk Horse Racing System
Each Way Sniper is a low-risk horse racing betting system which exploits EW markets. During our one month review, we made £149.83 profit from 37 bets (only 2 losing bets).
FootyBetter Extra Review: Low Odds Football Tips
After reviewing FootyBetter Extra for three months we finished with a total profit of £392 to £100 stakes with an ROI of 6.3%. It was an easy service to follow and took up very little time. With an average strike rate of over 80%, we found it was excellent value for money as a steady bank builder and gave them a 3 star pass rating.
The Outside Edge Review: Morning & Evening Horse Racing Tips
The Outside Edge delivered 85.48 points profit at an ROI of 10.9% during our review, with their two-pronged approach to horse racing betting. It was an easy pass!

Month One Results

Our first month ended with a small loss of 3 points. We also recorded the results at Betfair SP, which showed a loss of -7.85pts.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets14418
Profit/Loss (pts)+1.00-4.00-3.00
Average Odds12.1121.7514.25
Strike Rate7.1%0.0%5.56%
ROI7.1%-100%-16.7%
Bank97.0

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
07/11/15Doncaster13:50Withernsea1.0015.0014.0014.00
07/11/15Wincanton15:15Francis Of Assisi1.007.50-1.0013.00
13/11/15Cheltenham13:05The Clock Leary1.0013.00-1.0012.00
13/11/15Cheltenham14:50Any Currency1.009.00-1.0011.00
14/11/15Cheltenham13:50Spring Heeled1.0015.00-1.0010.00
14/11/15Cheltenham15:00Morito Du Berlais1.0017.00-1.009.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Shantou Bob1.007.00-1.008.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Low Key e/w1.0026.00-1.007.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:05Beltor1.0010.00-1.006.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:40Virak1.008.00-1.005.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Soll1.0012.00-1.004.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Thunder and Roses1.0010.00-1.003.00
05/12/15Sandown14:25Vicenzo Mio1.007.00-1.002.00
05/12/15Sandown15:35Just A Par1.0013.00-1.001.00
VB Extra Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
15/11/15Cheltenham15:15Jansboy e/w1.0034.00-1.00-1.00
22/11/15Uttoxeter14:50Ravens Brook1.0011.00-1.00-2.00
26/11/15Taunton16:00Double Accord1.008.00-1.00-3.00
27/11/15Newbury13:30Gevrey Chambertin e/w1.0034.00-1.00-4.00

Month Two Results

We completed the second month of our Value Backing review and banked a small 2.6pts profit with ROI of 14.4%. At Betfair SP the service made a profit of 4.37 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets10818
Profit/Loss (pts)5.50-2.902.6
Average Odds11.2013.012.0
Strike Rate20%25%22.2%
ROI55%-36.3%14.4%
Bank99.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
12/12/15Cheltenham15:35Blue Buttons1.007.00-1.000.00
19/12/15Ascot15:00Gullinbursti1.0017.00-1.00-1.00
19/12/15Ascot15:35Jollys Cracked It1.008.007.006.00
26/12/15Kempton13:25Sirabad1.006.00-1.005.00
27/12/15Kempton14:35The Last Samuri1.007.506.5011.50
01/01/16Cheltenham13:55Tenor Nivernais1.007.50-1.0010.50
01/01/16Cheltenham14:30Sybarite1.0029.00-1.009.50
01/01/16Musselburgh13:35Quito Du Tresor1.0013.00-1.008.50
01/01/16Musselburgh14:10Strongpoint1.009.00-1.007.50
02/01/16Sandown13:50Just Cameron1.008.00-1.006.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
11/12/15Doncaster12:45Park Place1.009.00-1.00-5.00
11/12/15Doncaster15:30Hidden Justice1.0013.00-1.00-6.00
16/12/15Newbury12:40Minella On Line1.0012.00-1.00-7.00
16/12/15Ludlow14:40Red Devil Lads1.009.00-1.00-8.00
17/12/15Towcester15:40Sweetlittlekitty1.008.00-1.00-9.00
26/12/15Fontwell14:05Highsalvia Cosmos e/w1.0017.001.10-7.90
05/01/16Southwell15:40Ciaras Cookie1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
06/01/16Huntingdon14:40King Muro e/w1.0021.002.00-6.90

Month Three Results

9 bets and 9 losses meant another dent in the bank of -14 points. An overall loss for our review of -14.4 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets91524
Profit/Loss (pts)-9.00-5.00-14.00
Average Odds13.3910.8311.81
Strike Rate0.00%13.3%8.33%
ROI-100%-35.7%-60.9%
Bank85.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
08/01/16Lingfield13:35First Summer1.0013.00-1.005.50
09/01/16Chepstow13:45Portrait King e/w1.0029.00-1.004.50
09/01/16Chepstow14:55Wizards Bridge1.005.00-1.003.50
16/01/16Wetherby14:05Mwaleshi1.007.50-1.002.50
16/01/16Warwick15:35Houblan Des Obeaux1.0010.00-1.001.50
21/01/16Wincanton14:45Leo Luna1.0011.00-1.000.50
23/01/16Ascot14:25Lil Rockerfeller1.0013.00-1.00-0.50
23/01/16Ascot15:35Bennys Mist1.0015.00-1.00-1.50
30/01/16Doncaster15:15Double Ross1.0017.00-1.00-2.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
07/01/16Lingfield15:20Comadoir1.009.00-1.00-7.90
13/01/16Taunton15:10The Brock Again1.005.50-1.00-8.90
14/01/16Chelmsford19:40Black Vale e/w1.0015.00-1.00-9.90
15/01/16Wolverhampton16:45Oriental Realtion e/w1.0017.001.50-8.40
20/01/16Kempton19:10Clement1.009.00-1.00-9.40
25/01/16Kempton15:45Barrakilla1.005.00-1.00-10.40
26/01/16Southwell14:05Roger Thorpe0.507.00-0.50-10.90
26/01/16Southwell14:05Excelling Oscar0.5012.00-0.50-11.40
27/01/16Catterick16:05Deny1.0010.00-1.00-12.40
28/01/16Warwick14:55The Boss's Dream1.006.505.50-6.90
29/01/16Huntingdon14:10Sonofagun1.007.00-1.00-7.90
02/02/16Southwell16:30Princess Peaches1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
03/02/16Newcastle14:00Frank The Slink1.0026.00-1.00-9.90
03/02/16Ludlow16:30Hill Fort1.0011.00-1.00-10.90
05/02/16Catterick13:50Bennylicious1.008.00-1.00-11.90

Month Four Results

A profit to end our Value Backing review as the service banked 15.5 points to give us an overall small profit of 1.1 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets393776
Profit/Loss (pts)+8.00-6.90+1.10
Average Odds11.6512.8512.24
Strike Rate12.8%13.5%13.2%
ROI20.5%-19.2%1.47%
Bank101.10

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
06/02/16Sandown15:00Sadlers Encore1.007.506.504.00
06/02/16Sandown15:30Unioniste1.008.00-1.003.00
13/02/16Newbury13:50Sykes1.005.00-1.002.00
20/02/16Haydock14:40Bishops Road1.009.008.0010.00
27/02/16Kempton15:35Roc D Aapsis1.0021.00-1.009.00
05/03/16Doncaster15:45Drop Out Joe1.005.00-1.008.00
08/02/16Musselburgh15:30Claude Carter1.0013.00-1.00-12.90
09/02/16Sedgefield15:25Heart O Annandale1.007.00-1.00-13.90
14/02/16Southwell15:20Jaarih1.0010.00-1.00-14.90
15/02/16Catterick15:40Its A Mans World1.0011.00-1.00-15.90
15/02/16Wolverhampton16:20Whispering Warrior1.0010.00-1.00-16.90
16/02/16Southwell15:05Llewellyn1.0012.00-1.00-17.90
16/02/16Ayr16:05Willie Hall1.0013.00-1.00-18.90
17/02/16Musselburgh15:25Danceintothelight1.0015.0014.00-4.90
19/02/16Lingfield14:20Malaysian Boleh1.0013.00-1.00-5.90
03/03/16Southwell13:45Feelin Dicky e/w1.0017.00-1.00-6.90

Review Summary

Value Backing made a small overall profit of 1.1 points. Nothing to get too excited about but being as there was no overall loss, we feel the service deserves a Neutral rating.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

OddsMonkey Review: Easily the Best Matched Betting Service
We have reviewed a number of matched betting services, but OddsMonkey is easily the best. It's easy to use, great value for money and there's even a FREE trial!
Winning Footy Tips Review: Profitable Football Tipster
Winning Footy Tips banked 33.01 points profit (45.8% ROI) during our review. This football tipster offers a guarantee so you can follow risk-free for 60 days.
BF Bot Manager Review: Automate Your Betting/Trading Systems
BF Bot Manager is an application that allows you to design and run bots to automate your betting and trading systems using custom sets of rules and conditions.
Fairbot Review: Betfair Exchange Trading Software
Our Fairbot Review explains how this popular Betfair trading software works and how it can give you an edge in the markets. There's an exclusive deal too!
Caan Berry Video Pack Course Review: Horse Racing Trading
Our review of Professional Betfair trader Caan Berry's video pack course, complete with strategies and techniques to trade Betfair horse racing markets.
Race D Base Review: Horse Racing Statistics Software
Race D Base is ideal for analysing data and creating your own horse racing betting systems. It is essentially a database which compiles historical and daily data from a number of sources.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3 stars

  • Value Backing
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 2nd April 2020

Value Backing is a horse betting tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races. We tracked results for four months and recorded the progress.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.