Value Backing Review: Horse Racing Tipping Service

value-backing-horse-betting-review-image

Value Backing is a horse racing tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races.

The standard VB selections claimed some impressive profits during 2012-2014. From 345 selections they generated a profit of 148.22pts with a huge ROI of 42.17%

Value Backing is brought to you by Carl Nicholson, a Harvard University graduate with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science. He started out in the horseracing industry working for the Daily Racing Form in the USA.

The selections are emailed out in the morning along with the advised odds. On average there are only of 8-10 bets per month and they are generally priced at long odds. They are a mixture of win and sometimes each-way bets for the bigger prices.

We would expect to see some long losing streaks, but Carl only needs a low strike rate to be able to make a profit.

We tracked results for four months and started with the standard 100pt bank with 1% stake per bet.


Before you continue...

Our Value Backing review ended with a neutral rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

ImRigged Review: Horse Racing Tipster
After promising results from this horse tipster over at Tipping Gurus, we decided to follow the service for ourselves. Find out if we made a profit here.
SAW Deluxe Bot Review: Automated Betting Software
SAW Deluxe is a betting bot which automates horse racing betting strategies. You can back, lay and Dutch bets in a variety of ways in races all over the world.
Each Way Sniper Review: Low-Risk Horse Racing System
Each Way Sniper is a low-risk horse racing betting system which exploits EW markets. During our one month review, we made £149.83 profit from 37 bets (only 2 losing bets).

Month One Results

Our first month ended with a small loss of 3 points. We also recorded the results at Betfair SP, which showed a loss of -7.85pts.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets14418
Profit/Loss (pts)+1.00-4.00-3.00
Average Odds12.1121.7514.25
Strike Rate7.1%0.0%5.56%
ROI7.1%-100%-16.7%
Bank97.0

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
07/11/15Doncaster13:50Withernsea1.0015.0014.0014.00
07/11/15Wincanton15:15Francis Of Assisi1.007.50-1.0013.00
13/11/15Cheltenham13:05The Clock Leary1.0013.00-1.0012.00
13/11/15Cheltenham14:50Any Currency1.009.00-1.0011.00
14/11/15Cheltenham13:50Spring Heeled1.0015.00-1.0010.00
14/11/15Cheltenham15:00Morito Du Berlais1.0017.00-1.009.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Shantou Bob1.007.00-1.008.00
21/11/15Haydock14:25Low Key e/w1.0026.00-1.007.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:05Beltor1.0010.00-1.006.00
28/11/15Newcastle14:40Virak1.008.00-1.005.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Soll1.0012.00-1.004.00
05/12/15Aintree13:40Thunder and Roses1.0010.00-1.003.00
05/12/15Sandown14:25Vicenzo Mio1.007.00-1.002.00
05/12/15Sandown15:35Just A Par1.0013.00-1.001.00
VB Extra Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
15/11/15Cheltenham15:15Jansboy e/w1.0034.00-1.00-1.00
22/11/15Uttoxeter14:50Ravens Brook1.0011.00-1.00-2.00
26/11/15Taunton16:00Double Accord1.008.00-1.00-3.00
27/11/15Newbury13:30Gevrey Chambertin e/w1.0034.00-1.00-4.00

Month Two Results

We completed the second month of our Value Backing review and banked a small 2.6pts profit with ROI of 14.4%. At Betfair SP the service made a profit of 4.37 points.

Key Stats

VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets10818
Profit/Loss (pts)5.50-2.902.6
Average Odds11.2013.012.0
Strike Rate20%25%22.2%
ROI55%-36.3%14.4%
Bank99.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
12/12/15Cheltenham15:35Blue Buttons1.007.00-1.000.00
19/12/15Ascot15:00Gullinbursti1.0017.00-1.00-1.00
19/12/15Ascot15:35Jollys Cracked It1.008.007.006.00
26/12/15Kempton13:25Sirabad1.006.00-1.005.00
27/12/15Kempton14:35The Last Samuri1.007.506.5011.50
01/01/16Cheltenham13:55Tenor Nivernais1.007.50-1.0010.50
01/01/16Cheltenham14:30Sybarite1.0029.00-1.009.50
01/01/16Musselburgh13:35Quito Du Tresor1.0013.00-1.008.50
01/01/16Musselburgh14:10Strongpoint1.009.00-1.007.50
02/01/16Sandown13:50Just Cameron1.008.00-1.006.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LRunning Total
11/12/15Doncaster12:45Park Place1.009.00-1.00-5.00
11/12/15Doncaster15:30Hidden Justice1.0013.00-1.00-6.00
16/12/15Newbury12:40Minella On Line1.0012.00-1.00-7.00
16/12/15Ludlow14:40Red Devil Lads1.009.00-1.00-8.00
17/12/15Towcester15:40Sweetlittlekitty1.008.00-1.00-9.00
26/12/15Fontwell14:05Highsalvia Cosmos e/w1.0017.001.10-7.90
05/01/16Southwell15:40Ciaras Cookie1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
06/01/16Huntingdon14:40King Muro e/w1.0021.002.00-6.90

Month Three Results

9 bets and 9 losses meant another dent in the bank of -14 points. An overall loss for our review of -14.4 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets91524
Profit/Loss (pts)-9.00-5.00-14.00
Average Odds13.3910.8311.81
Strike Rate0.00%13.3%8.33%
ROI-100%-35.7%-60.9%
Bank85.6

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
08/01/16Lingfield13:35First Summer1.0013.00-1.005.50
09/01/16Chepstow13:45Portrait King e/w1.0029.00-1.004.50
09/01/16Chepstow14:55Wizards Bridge1.005.00-1.003.50
16/01/16Wetherby14:05Mwaleshi1.007.50-1.002.50
16/01/16Warwick15:35Houblan Des Obeaux1.0010.00-1.001.50
21/01/16Wincanton14:45Leo Luna1.0011.00-1.000.50
23/01/16Ascot14:25Lil Rockerfeller1.0013.00-1.00-0.50
23/01/16Ascot15:35Bennys Mist1.0015.00-1.00-1.50
30/01/16Doncaster15:15Double Ross1.0017.00-1.00-2.50
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
07/01/16Lingfield15:20Comadoir1.009.00-1.00-7.90
13/01/16Taunton15:10The Brock Again1.005.50-1.00-8.90
14/01/16Chelmsford19:40Black Vale e/w1.0015.00-1.00-9.90
15/01/16Wolverhampton16:45Oriental Realtion e/w1.0017.001.50-8.40
20/01/16Kempton19:10Clement1.009.00-1.00-9.40
25/01/16Kempton15:45Barrakilla1.005.00-1.00-10.40
26/01/16Southwell14:05Roger Thorpe0.507.00-0.50-10.90
26/01/16Southwell14:05Excelling Oscar0.5012.00-0.50-11.40
27/01/16Catterick16:05Deny1.0010.00-1.00-12.40
28/01/16Warwick14:55The Boss's Dream1.006.505.50-6.90
29/01/16Huntingdon14:10Sonofagun1.007.00-1.00-7.90
02/02/16Southwell16:30Princess Peaches1.0015.00-1.00-8.90
03/02/16Newcastle14:00Frank The Slink1.0026.00-1.00-9.90
03/02/16Ludlow16:30Hill Fort1.0011.00-1.00-10.90
05/02/16Catterick13:50Bennylicious1.008.00-1.00-11.90

Month Four Results

A profit to end our Value Backing review as the service banked 15.5 points to give us an overall small profit of 1.1 points.

Key Stats

 VB MainVB ExtraOverall
Number of Bets393776
Profit/Loss (pts)+8.00-6.90+1.10
Average Odds11.6512.8512.24
Strike Rate12.8%13.5%13.2%
ROI20.5%-19.2%1.47%
Bank101.10

Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeOddsP/LBank
06/02/16Sandown15:00Sadlers Encore1.007.506.504.00
06/02/16Sandown15:30Unioniste1.008.00-1.003.00
13/02/16Newbury13:50Sykes1.005.00-1.002.00
20/02/16Haydock14:40Bishops Road1.009.008.0010.00
27/02/16Kempton15:35Roc D Aapsis1.0021.00-1.009.00
05/03/16Doncaster15:45Drop Out Joe1.005.00-1.008.00
08/02/16Musselburgh15:30Claude Carter1.0013.00-1.00-12.90
09/02/16Sedgefield15:25Heart O Annandale1.007.00-1.00-13.90
14/02/16Southwell15:20Jaarih1.0010.00-1.00-14.90
15/02/16Catterick15:40Its A Mans World1.0011.00-1.00-15.90
15/02/16Wolverhampton16:20Whispering Warrior1.0010.00-1.00-16.90
16/02/16Southwell15:05Llewellyn1.0012.00-1.00-17.90
16/02/16Ayr16:05Willie Hall1.0013.00-1.00-18.90
17/02/16Musselburgh15:25Danceintothelight1.0015.0014.00-4.90
19/02/16Lingfield14:20Malaysian Boleh1.0013.00-1.00-5.90
03/03/16Southwell13:45Feelin Dicky e/w1.0017.00-1.00-6.90

Review Summary

Value Backing made a small overall profit of 1.1 points. Nothing to get too excited about but being as there was no overall loss, we feel the service deserves a Neutral rating.


Other Systems and Services which Passed

Soccer Stats Bot Review: Betfair Football Betting Software
The Soccer Stats Bot places back and lay bets on Betfair based on your own customisable filters, allowing you to easily automate football betting systems.
Fairbot Review: Betfair Exchange Trading Software
Our Fairbot Review explains how this popular Betfair trading software works and how it can give you an edge in the markets. There's an exclusive deal too!
Bet Less Win More Review: Betfair Horse Racing Tips
Bet Less Win More's "slow and steady wins the race" approach paid off banking us £434 profit at an ROI of 15.2%.
Cleeve Racing Review: National Hunt and Flat Horse Race Tips
During our three month review of Cleeve Racing, we banked 56.94 points profit at 30.9% ROI. We did not hesitate to award this horse racing tipster with a pass and, exclusive to Goal Profits, you will get a 25% discount at Cleeve Racing!
Match Day Profits Review: Low Risk Betting Tips
We reviewed Match Day Profits for three months and made an overall total profit of £244.65, which was an average monthly profit of £81.55. We were given a variety of tips and accas along with the monthly free bets and bookie offers to take advantage of which not only made it a fun service to review but a profitable one too!
Predictology Review: Football System Builder and Tips
Predictology is a football betting strategy builder that allows you to analyse 300,000+ matches to find profitable bets in a matter of seconds.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 3 stars

  • Value Backing
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 2nd April 2020

Value Backing is a horse betting tipping service which focuses on value tips for big races. We tracked results for four months and recorded the progress.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.