Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary Review: Horse Betting Tips

Racing Diary Review

Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary is a horse tipping service with some very impressive published results.

Graduating from Harvard with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science, Carl launched Racing Diary in August 2015. 

One to two tips are sent out each day, mainly win only with the occasional each way bet thrown in. Each bet comes with a very detailed analysis, as well as a review of the previous days bets.

For our review, we used a 100pt starting bank and followed the staking advice given in the emails. We recorded the results at the advised odds, the odds we were able to obtain and also at Betfair SP.

In just three months, we banked 47.55 points profit at a huge 65.1% ROI. We have shared our full results below, or alternatively click here to get started with Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary.


Month One Results

We had a great start to our review with 35 bets in total making 30.50pts profits at the available odds. That was a massive 101.7% return on investment which, at the advised £10 per point, worked out at £305.00 profit.

At Betfair SP, the profit was 19.72pts. That was just over 10pts less than the obtained odds results, but still a very impressive figure and a 65.7% return on investment.

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets353535
Total Stakes (pts)30.0030.0030.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+30.50+30.50+19.72
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£305.00+£305.00+£197.20
Average Odds11.9111.8413.05
Strike Rate22.9%22.9%22.9%
ROI101.7%101.7%65.7%
Bank (pts)130.50130.50119.72
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
03/03/16Ludlow15:05Grimley Girl1.006.50-1.0099.00
04/03/16Doncaster16:20Favourite Girl1.0013.00-1.0098.00
06/03/16Sedgefield14:50Snapping Turtle1.005.50-1.0097.00
10/03/16Chelmsford17:50Percella1.007.50-1.0096.00
11/03/16Ayr15:40Quick Decisson1.007.00-1.0095.00
12/03/16Sandown14:35Bertie Boru1.007.00-1.0094.00
13/03/16Kelso16:40Cruachin1.007.00-1.0093.00
15/03/16Cheltenham14:50CaroleÕs Destrier0.5013.00-0.5092.50
15/03/16Cheltenham14:50Ballykan0.5034.00-0.5092.00
15/03/16Cheltenham16:50Noble Endeavour0.508.00-0.5091.50
15/03/16Cheltenham16:50Southfield Royale0.509.00-0.5091.00
15/03/16Cheltenham17:30Amore Alato1.0023.00-1.0090.00
16/03/16Cheltenham14:50Poliologue0.5011.00-0.5089.50
16/03/16Cheltenham14:50Call The Cops0.5034.00-0.5089.00
16/03/16Cheltenham16:50Romain De Senam0.5029.00-0.5088.50
16/03/16Cheltenham16:50Duke Of Medina0.5034.00-0.5088.00
16/03/16Cheltenham17:30Ballyandy1.009.008.0096.00
17/03/16Cheltenham13:30Black Hercules1.007.006.00102.00
17/03/16Cheltenham14:10Our Kaempfer1.0013.00-1.00101.00
18/03/16Cheltenham14:10Modus0.5019.00-0.50100.50
18/03/16Cheltenham14:10Blue Hell0.5011.00-0.50100.00
19/03/16Uttoxeter15:00Smooth Stepper1.009.00-1.0099.00
19/03/16Kempton15:15Keltus1.0017.00-1.0098.00
20/03/16Ffos Las14:30Bonobo1.006.00-1.0097.00
21/03/16Southwell16:20Diego Suarez1.008.00-1.0096.00
22/03/16Exeter15:05Quieto Sol1.007.506.50102.50
23/03/16Southwell15:05Birrafun1.005.504.50107.00
25/03/16Lingfield16:45Cape Speed1.005.50-1.00106.00
26/03/16Newton Abbot15:50Belize1.006.005.00111.00
27/03/16Wolverhampton15:50Muthraab Aldaar1.0013.0012.00123.00
30/03/16Exeter15:05Lord Ballim1.006.00-1.00122.00
30/03/16Exeter16:45Dusk Till Dawn1.006.00-1.00121.00
31/03/16Bangor15:15Weststreet1.005.504.50125.50
01/04/16Wetherby15:15Lowcarr Motion1.007.006.00131.50
02/04/16Newbury14:35Tour Des Champs1.005.00-1.00130.50

Month Two Results

It was another fantastic month, with 24 bets achieving 14.25pts profit at the odds we were able to obtain. Another huge ROI of 54.8% which meant that, at the advised £10 stakes, we had made a total profit of £447.50 since we started the trial.

The Betfair SP results showed less profit, but were still up by 31.45pts overall with a return on investment of 56%.

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets242424
Total Stakes (pts)26.0026.0026.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+14.50+14.25+11.73
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£145.00+£142.50+£117.30
Average Odds10.4610.3312.14
Strike Rate16.7%16.7%16.7%
ROI55.8%54.8%45.1%
Bank (pts)145.00144.75131.45
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
06/04/16Nottingham17:25Visage Blanc1.0013.00-1.00129.50
07/04/16Chelmsford17:50Haabis1.0017.00-1.00128.50
08/04/16Aintree16:05Killer Crow1.0015.00-1.00127.50
09/04/16Aintree17:15The Last Samuri e/w2.0012.001.75129.25
09/04/16Wolverhampton20:20Kingthistle1.008.00-1.00128.25
10/04/16Market Rasen16:30Alberta1.005.50-1.00127.25
11/04/16Redcar16:00Toboggan's Fire1.008.007.00134.25
13/04/16Cheltenham16:10Altesse De Guye1.006.505.50139.75
14/04/16Cheltenham15:35Amigo1.006.50-1.00138.75
14/04/16Cheltenham16:45Wild Bill1.007.00-1.00137.75
16/04/16Thirsk17:45Coiste Bodhar e/w2.0017.00-2.00135.75
17/04/16Wincanton13:55Berry De Carjac1.0013.00-1.00134.75
17/04/16Wincanton15:30Pennywell1.0013.00-1.00133.75
19/04/16Kempton14:00Threebarmymen1.0012.00-1.00132.75
20/04/16Perth14:40Duh Eile1.007.00-1.00131.75
21/04/16Beverley15:50Palmerston1.0015.00-1.00130.75
22/04/16Doncaster17:25Grapevine1.0011.00-1.00129.75
23/04/16Doncaster17:00Dusky Raider1.0010.00-1.00128.75
25/04/16Southwell14:40Final1.007.00-1.00127.75
26/04/16Lingfield17:40Fashaak1.007.50-1.00126.75
27/04/16Pontefract16:15Dinneratmidnight1.0015.0014.00140.75
28/04/16Chelmsford19:30Shingwedzi1.0010.00-1.00139.75
29/04/16Bangor17:45Court Baloo1.007.006.00145.75
02/05/16Kempton14:45New World1.005.00-1.00144.75

Month Three Results

This was our 3rd profitable month in a row, albeit a smaller 2.8 points. It meant that over the full course of our review, we banked an impressive 47.55 points profit at the available odds, with a huge ROI of 65.1%.

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets767676
Total Stakes (pts)73.0073.0073.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+47.80+47.55+26.59
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£478.00+£475.50+£265.90
Average Odds10.8810.7612.06
Strike Rate19.7%19.7%19.7%
ROI65.5%65.1%36.4%
Bank (pts)147.80147.55126.59
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
04/05/16Chester17:25Antioco1.0012.00-1.00143.75
06/05/16Market Rasen15:25Three Of A Kind1.007.50-1.00142.75
09/05/16Musselburgh17:10Quick N Quirky1.009.006.80149.55
10/05/16Wincanton16:10Red Orator1.005.00-1.00148.55
12/05/16York17:20Cardinal Walter1.007.00-1.00147.55
14/05/16Uttoxeter19:30Adeenne De Sevres1.0015.00-1.00146.55
17/05/16Newcastle16:40Exotic Guest1.009.00-1.00145.55
18/05/16Ayr14:35Goninodaethat1.006.00-1.00144.55
18/05/16Southwell20:15Denboy1.006.00-1.00143.55
21/05/16Haydock16:10Kachy1.0015.00-1.00142.55
22/05/16Nottingham14:50Lady of Yue1.006.50-1.00141.55
23/05/16Ayr14:30Bunce1.008.00-1.00140.55
23/05/16Windsor19:45Ice Lord1.007.506.50147.05
24/05/16Hexham15:00Miss Blanche1.0013.00-1.00146.05
25/05/16Newton Abbot19:10Mango Cap1.0017.00-1.00145.05
26/05/16Chelmsford16:20Tyrannical1.004.503.50148.55
28/05/16Ffos Las20:05Tullow Tonic1.007.00-1.00147.55
Racing Diary Graph

Results Summary

We banked an impressive 47.55 points profit at the available odds with a huge ROI of 65.1%.

There are no crazy staking plans to inflate the results, each bet is advised at a level 1pt stake and the official results use £10 per point. Carl showed us that being selective and having a knowledgeable approach can deliver consistent profits.

We have no hesitation in adding Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary into our list of passed reviews with the highest 5 star rating. 

Review Stats47.55pts profit, 65.1% ROI, 19.7% SR
Stakes 1 point level stakes
Starting bank 100 points
Average no. bets1-2 per day
Time of emailsEvening before the races, between 7.00-9.00pm
Price£9.99 for the 1st month, then £24.99 per month
RatingPass

Other Systems and Services which Passed

Super Sports Bot Review: Automated Multi-Sports Betting Bot
Super Sports Bot automates betting for many sports including tennis, cricket and American sports. Our reviewer made £47.86 profit in just two months.
Assured Soccer Profits Review: Correct Score Trading System
Assured Soccer Profits is a low-risk football trading strategy which focuses on the Betfair Correct Score market. We tested it out and here is our full review.
The Judge Review: Profitable Greyhound Betting Tipster
Greyhound racing tipster 'The Judge' boasts impressive long-term results. During our three month review, we banked 79.56 points profit at 11.2% ROI.
Each Way Sniper Review: Low-Risk Horse Racing System
Each Way Sniper is a low-risk horse racing betting system which exploits EW markets. During our one month review, we made £149.83 profit from 37 bets (only 2 losing bets).
Cleeve Racing Review: National Hunt and Flat Horse Race Tips
During our three month review of Cleeve Racing, we banked 56.94 points profit at 30.9% ROI. We did not hesitate to award this horse racing tipster with a pass and, exclusive to Goal Profits, you will get a 25% discount at Cleeve Racing!
Merlin Results Radar Review: Treble Betting System
Merlin Results Radar is an Excel based app that claims to guarantee winning treble bets even if you wrongly predict two of the three selections.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 5 stars


We tracked results for Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary tipster service and made an impressive 47.55 points profit at the available odds with a huge ROI of 65.1%.

Pros

  • Selective approach, but enough bets to keep it interesting
  • Analysis given with each tip
  • Bets received well in advance of events
  • Full results available to download

Cons

  • Expect some long losing runs, patience is needed to ride them out

4 thoughts on “Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary Review: Horse Betting Tips”

  1. Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary Have not had a tip for nearly a week.Keep getting e-mail NO TIP TODAY.Signed up 10 days ago 1st 3 days 3 tips all ran awful nothing since.No explanation No Tips People need to know.

    • Hi Steve, I have been receiving regular tips from CN Racing Diary… there have been 15 so far this month and 4 this week. They are also approx 2pts in profit since our last update.
      The only thing I can think of is that some how you may have been signed up to Carl’s other service, Value Backing, which is much more selective. Have you been in touch with the vendor?

  2. For what it’s worth to anyone passing by – October was my first month with the service, I lost 30 points, at one point there was a run of 25 consecutive losers, broken only by a single short odds winner, and then followed by another 9 consecutive losers. On this basis I couldn’t justify the monthly premium for another go.

    • Hi Martin, Thanks for your feedback.

      Wow… that is a bad run. Many tipping services will experience this from time to time, especially the horse racing ones. The service reported a profit of over 30 points for September and from Jan – Sept this year they have made a total profit of 88.58 points. So it seems you have been unfortunate to join at a bad time and didn’t have the benefit of the September profits.

      It’s worth keeping an eye on November’s results as the long-term performance has been good and that’s what counts.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.