Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary

Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary

Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary Final Review

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 5 stars


Welcome to our Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary review - A horse betting service where Carl shares his daily horse racing tips along with a detailed analysis.

Pros

  • Selective approach, but enough bets to keep it interesting
  • Analysis given with each tip
  • Bets received well in advance of events
  • Full results available to download

Cons

  • Expect some long losing runs, patience is needed to ride them out

We’ve now come to the end of our review of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary betting service, after trialing it over the last three months. We’ve been extremely impressed by the performance of the tips during this period. Overall we made a profit of 47.55 points at the available odds with a huge ROI of 65.1%.

It is the perfect example of how being selective can pay off. Racing Diary easily makes it into our “Passed” section with the highest 5 star rating.

Betting at Betfair SP odds would have also given us a very respectable profit over the 3 months. The results show a profit of 26.59pts with an ROI of 36.4%.

Review Stats 47.55pts profit, 65.1% ROI, 19.7% SR
Stakes 1 point level stakes
Starting bank 100 points
Average no. bets 1-2 per day
Time of emails Evening before the races, between 7.00-9.00pm
Price £9.99 for the 1st month, then £24.99 per month
Rating Pass

The service is run by Carl Nicholson, who graduated from Harvard with a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science. Racing Diary was launched in August 2015 and has had great success, with the official results showing a profit of 158.68 points to date.

Aside from the usual Diary tips, we also received some Antepost selections for the Cheltenham and Aintree festivals, as well as a daily guide to Punchestown. The Antepost tips added an extra 2.38 points profit.

Racing Diary Graph

One of the things we like the most about this tipping service is the simplicity. There are just 1-2 bets emailed out each day, or some days none at all if there isn’t anything that meets the tipster’s standards. Each email comes with a summary of what happened with the previous day’s selections and an analysis of the upcoming bets.

Example of a tip received from the Racing Diary

On to Thursdays card and there is one of my horses to note for this season running in the 4.20 at Chelmsford Tyrannical. This one looks a sure fire improver this season for the always shrewd Sir Mark Prescott yard and he looks to have found the right opportunity in this race to get the ball rolling.

Tyrannical @ 7'2 Paddy Power

There are no crazy staking plans to inflate the results – each bet is advised at a level 1pt stake and the official results use £10 per point. A 100 point starting bank is recommended.

We did experience some losing runs, with 16 losing bets in a row at the very beginning of our review, but this was soon recovered. This is to be expected when betting on horse racing.


Key Stats
 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets767676
Total Stakes (pts)73.0073.0073.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+47.80+47.55+26.59
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£478.00+£475.50+£265.90
Average Odds10.8810.7612.06
Strike Rate19.7%19.7%19.7%
ROI65.5%65.1%36.4%
Bank (pts)147.80147.55126.59

Month #3 Results

DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
04/05/16Chester17:25Antioco1.0012.00-1.00143.75
06/05/16Market Rasen15:25Three Of A Kind1.007.50-1.00142.75
09/05/16Musselburgh17:10Quick N Quirky1.009.006.80149.55
10/05/16Wincanton16:10Red Orator1.005.00-1.00148.55
12/05/16York17:20Cardinal Walter1.007.00-1.00147.55
14/05/16Uttoxeter19:30Adeenne De Sevres1.0015.00-1.00146.55
17/05/16Newcastle16:40Exotic Guest1.009.00-1.00145.55
18/05/16Ayr14:35Goninodaethat1.006.00-1.00144.55
18/05/16Southwell20:15Denboy1.006.00-1.00143.55
21/05/16Haydock16:10Kachy1.0015.00-1.00142.55
22/05/16Nottingham14:50Lady of Yue1.006.50-1.00141.55
23/05/16Ayr14:30Bunce1.008.00-1.00140.55
23/05/16Windsor19:45Ice Lord1.007.506.50147.05
24/05/16Hexham15:00Miss Blanche1.0013.00-1.00146.05
25/05/16Newton Abbot19:10Mango Cap1.0017.00-1.00145.05
26/05/16Chelmsford16:20Tyrannical1.004.503.50148.55
28/05/16Ffos Las20:05Tullow Tonic1.007.00-1.00147.55

When we first started the review the tips were sent out in the morning, but at the request of current members of the service, they are now sent out the evening before the races.

This may be more suitable for those working during the day, but sometimes not all bookies have priced up their markets yet. Despite that, we didn’t have any trouble getting the required odds the majority of the time.

Racing Diary is reasonably priced at £9.99 for the first month and then £24.99 per month.

Summary

This service is hands down one of the best in the Horse Racing category that we have reviewed on this site so far. It does exactly what it says on the tin.

The tipster’s selective and knowledgeable approach has delivered consistent profits and we are confident that it will continue to be successful in the long-term.


Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary Update Two

6th May 2016

It’s been another fantastic month in our review of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary. We have had 24 bets this month and made a profit of 14.25pts at the odds we were able to obtain, with again another huge ROI of 54.8%. At the advised £10 stakes we have now made a total profit of £447.50 since we started the trial.

As with last month, the Betfair SP results show less profit but are still up by an impressive 31.45pts overall with a return on investment of 56%.

Despite having just 4 winning bets this month, one came in at 14/1 and really boosted the profits. The odds have ranged between 5.00 and 17.00 with the average at 10.33.

Aside from the regular tips we have also received a daily report throughout the Punchestown festival, with “off the record” advice for each race.


Key Stats
 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets242424
Total Stakes (pts)26.0026.0026.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+14.50+14.25+11.73
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£145.00+£142.50+£117.30
Average Odds10.4610.3312.14
Strike Rate16.7%16.7%16.7%
ROI55.8%54.8%45.1%
Bank (pts)145.00144.75131.45

Month #2 Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
06/04/16Nottingham17:25Visage Blanc1.0013.00-1.00129.50
07/04/16Chelmsford17:50Haabis1.0017.00-1.00128.50
08/04/16Aintree16:05Killer Crow1.0015.00-1.00127.50
09/04/16Aintree17:15The Last Samuri e/w2.0012.001.75129.25
09/04/16Wolverhampton20:20Kingthistle1.008.00-1.00128.25
10/04/16Market Rasen16:30Alberta1.005.50-1.00127.25
11/04/16Redcar16:00Toboggan's Fire1.008.007.00134.25
13/04/16Cheltenham16:10Altesse De Guye1.006.505.50139.75
14/04/16Cheltenham15:35Amigo1.006.50-1.00138.75
14/04/16Cheltenham16:45Wild Bill1.007.00-1.00137.75
16/04/16Thirsk17:45Coiste Bodhar e/w2.0017.00-2.00135.75
17/04/16Wincanton13:55Berry De Carjac1.0013.00-1.00134.75
17/04/16Wincanton15:30Pennywell1.0013.00-1.00133.75
19/04/16Kempton14:00Threebarmymen1.0012.00-1.00132.75
20/04/16Perth14:40Duh Eile1.007.00-1.00131.75
21/04/16Beverley15:50Palmerston1.0015.00-1.00130.75
22/04/16Doncaster17:25Grapevine1.0011.00-1.00129.75
23/04/16Doncaster17:00Dusky Raider1.0010.00-1.00128.75
25/04/16Southwell14:40Final1.007.00-1.00127.75
26/04/16Lingfield17:40Fashaak1.007.50-1.00126.75
27/04/16Pontefract16:15Dinneratmidnight1.0015.0014.00140.75
28/04/16Chelmsford19:30Shingwedzi1.0010.00-1.00139.75
29/04/16Bangor17:45Court Baloo1.007.006.00145.75
02/05/16Kempton14:45New World1.005.00-1.00144.75

It’s very rare that we can find no faults at all with a betting service, but so far we really can’t find a bad thing to say about this one.

We’ll be back next month with our final update to the review.


Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary Update One

4th April 2016

We’re at the end of month one of our review of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary betting service and it’s been a very positive start. So far we have had 35 bets and made a total profit of 30.50pts at the available odds, with a massive 101.7% return on investment. At the advised £10.00 per point this works out as a profit of £305.00.

At Betfair SP we would have made a profit of 19.72pts, just over 10.00pts less than the obtained odds results, but still a very impressive figure and a 65.7% return on investment.

We have found that we were able to get the advised odds the majority of the time and achieved the same profit as the advised odds results.

There has been a change to the timing of the emails since we started the review. For the first half of the month we received the tips on the morning of the race, but it has now been changed to the evening before, after requests from current members.

This hasn’t been a problem for us so far but we have found that a lot of bookies haven’t priced up the market yet at the time of the emails, so we are limited with which ones we can place our bets at.


Key Stats
 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBetfair SP
Number of Bets353535
Total Stakes (pts)30.0030.0030.00
Profit/Loss (pts)+30.50+30.50+19.72
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)+£305.00+£305.00+£197.20
Average Odds11.9111.8413.05
Strike Rate22.9%22.9%22.9%
ROI101.7%101.7%65.7%
Bank (pts)130.50130.50119.72

Month #1 Results
DateCourseTimeSelectionStakeAvailable OddsP/LBank
03/03/16Ludlow15:05Grimley Girl1.006.50-1.0099.00
04/03/16Doncaster16:20Favourite Girl1.0013.00-1.0098.00
06/03/16Sedgefield14:50Snapping Turtle1.005.50-1.0097.00
10/03/16Chelmsford17:50Percella1.007.50-1.0096.00
11/03/16Ayr15:40Quick Decisson1.007.00-1.0095.00
12/03/16Sandown14:35Bertie Boru1.007.00-1.0094.00
13/03/16Kelso16:40Cruachin1.007.00-1.0093.00
15/03/16Cheltenham14:50CaroleÕs Destrier0.5013.00-0.5092.50
15/03/16Cheltenham14:50Ballykan0.5034.00-0.5092.00
15/03/16Cheltenham16:50Noble Endeavour0.508.00-0.5091.50
15/03/16Cheltenham16:50Southfield Royale0.509.00-0.5091.00
15/03/16Cheltenham17:30Amore Alato1.0023.00-1.0090.00
16/03/16Cheltenham14:50Poliologue0.5011.00-0.5089.50
16/03/16Cheltenham14:50Call The Cops0.5034.00-0.5089.00
16/03/16Cheltenham16:50Romain De Senam0.5029.00-0.5088.50
16/03/16Cheltenham16:50Duke Of Medina0.5034.00-0.5088.00
16/03/16Cheltenham17:30Ballyandy1.009.008.0096.00
17/03/16Cheltenham13:30Black Hercules1.007.006.00102.00
17/03/16Cheltenham14:10Our Kaempfer1.0013.00-1.00101.00
18/03/16Cheltenham14:10Modus0.5019.00-0.50100.50
18/03/16Cheltenham14:10Blue Hell0.5011.00-0.50100.00
19/03/16Uttoxeter15:00Smooth Stepper1.009.00-1.0099.00
19/03/16Kempton15:15Keltus1.0017.00-1.0098.00
20/03/16Ffos Las14:30Bonobo1.006.00-1.0097.00
21/03/16Southwell16:20Diego Suarez1.008.00-1.0096.00
22/03/16Exeter15:05Quieto Sol1.007.506.50102.50
23/03/16Southwell15:05Birrafun1.005.504.50107.00
25/03/16Lingfield16:45Cape Speed1.005.50-1.00106.00
26/03/16Newton Abbot15:50Belize1.006.005.00111.00
27/03/16Wolverhampton15:50Muthraab Aldaar1.0013.0012.00123.00
30/03/16Exeter15:05Lord Ballim1.006.00-1.00122.00
30/03/16Exeter16:45Dusk Till Dawn1.006.00-1.00121.00
31/03/16Bangor15:15Weststreet1.005.504.50125.50
01/04/16Wetherby15:15Lowcarr Motion1.007.006.00131.50
02/04/16Newbury14:35Tour Des Champs1.005.00-1.00130.50

We also have results from the ante post tips we received for Cheltenham – these made a small loss of 0.62pts. They will be added into our final review along with the Grand National ante post bets we received last week.

So far we have been extremely impressed with this service. Each tip comes with a detailed analysis and you really get the feeling that every bet is well researched and thought out.

We’re looking forward to seeing what the next month will bring… we’ll report back in a month’s time with our next set of results.


Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary Introduction

2nd March 2016

Today we are starting a review of Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary service. We are currently reviewing his Value Backing service, which focuses on value bets for main weekend races and festivals. His Racing Diary service provides tips on a more frequent basis, generally 1-2 tips per day, which suits those who prefer to receive tips more often.

He has been running the service since August 2015 and has had some very impressive results so far, which are available to download in full from the website. It’s always good to see that a service is being completely transparent by allowing us to see their past results.

Given the average prices that Carl is targeting there will be losing runs and a relatively modest win Strike Rate (although currently 42% have placed) but the overall aim is plenty of profit combined with a decent Return on Investment.

During the Aug-Feb period Carl has certainly delivered with the 31 winners from 187 selections (16.58% SR) delivering a cracking +55% ROI.

Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary

The tips are mostly Win Only but there are occasionally some Each Way bets. They have recorded the results using 1 point level stakes and using £10 per point have produced a profit of £1025.00 to date.

Each bet comes with a very detailed analysis as well as a review of the previous days bets. We do prefer to see a bit of background behind the bets as opposed to services that simply send out selections, which for all we know could have been blindly picked out. It also makes things much more interesting!

We will be using a 100pt starting bank and following the staking advice given in the emails. We will be recording the results at the advised odds, odds we are able to obtain and also Betfair SP results.

The Racing Diary service usually costs £24.99 per month, but has recently been reduced to £19.99 per month as a special offer for new members.

We'll be interested to see how this review progresses as we have not had much luck with tipster's with "inside contacts" previously. However, Carl does appear to know his stuff so we have high hopes. We will be back in a month’s time with our first update.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 5 stars


Welcome to our Carl Nicholson's Racing Diary review - A horse betting service where Carl shares his daily horse racing tips along with a detailed analysis.

Pros

  • Selective approach, but enough bets to keep it interesting
  • Analysis given with each tip
  • Bets received well in advance of events
  • Full results available to download

Cons

  • Expect some long losing runs, patience is needed to ride them out

4 Comments

  1. Carl Nicholson’s Racing Diary Have not had a tip for nearly a week.Keep getting e-mail NO TIP TODAY.Signed up 10 days ago 1st 3 days 3 tips all ran awful nothing since.No explanation No Tips People need to know.

    1. Hi Steve, I have been receiving regular tips from CN Racing Diary… there have been 15 so far this month and 4 this week. They are also approx 2pts in profit since our last update.
      The only thing I can think of is that some how you may have been signed up to Carl’s other service, Value Backing, which is much more selective. Have you been in touch with the vendor?

  2. For what it’s worth to anyone passing by – October was my first month with the service, I lost 30 points, at one point there was a run of 25 consecutive losers, broken only by a single short odds winner, and then followed by another 9 consecutive losers. On this basis I couldn’t justify the monthly premium for another go.

    1. Hi Martin, Thanks for your feedback.

      Wow… that is a bad run. Many tipping services will experience this from time to time, especially the horse racing ones. The service reported a profit of over 30 points for September and from Jan – Sept this year they have made a total profit of 88.58 points. So it seems you have been unfortunate to join at a bad time and didn’t have the benefit of the September profits.

      It’s worth keeping an eye on November’s results as the long-term performance has been good and that’s what counts.

Leave a Response