Irish Racing Tips Review: Carl Nicholson’s Horse Tips

Irish Racing Tips Review

Carl Nicholson already earned "passes" in our reviews of two of his horse racing tips services. Can he make it a third with his latest one, Irish Racing Tips?

His two other horse tipping services, ITV Racing Tips and Racing Diary, made a collective profit of just under 100 points in our reviews. So, we had no hesitation in taking a look at his new Irish Racing Tips service to see if it would be just as successful.

As the name would suggest, this service is completely focused on horse racing based in Ireland. After having solid past results from Irish racing, it made sense to Carl to expand on this and dedicate a service to it.

His reported results for the service show an average strike rate of 40% and a profit of 22 points at an ROI of 20%.

There had been around 350 Irish race meetings in 2019, so plenty of betting opportunities to take advantage of. Bets are sent out on most days of the week where value is available.

Generally, bets are 1 point win or 0.5 points each-way and they are sent out by email in the morning once the markets have been fully priced up.

We followed the service over four months and you can see our full results below.


Before you continue...

Our Irish Racing Tips review ended with a fail rating.

Please feel free to continue reading the full review below, though we recommend checking out some of the betting system reviews which ended in a pass instead. There's a small selection below or you can click here for the full list.

Each Way Sniper Review: Low-Risk Horse Racing System
Each Way Sniper is a low-risk horse racing betting system which exploits EW markets. During our one month review, we made £149.83 profit from 37 bets (only 2 losing bets).
WinnerOdds Review: Value Tennis Betting Tips Software
WinnerOdds software identifies value tennis betting tips. During our three month review, we banked £766.38 profit (4.5% ROI) from a total of 448 bets, increasing our starting bank by 76.6%.
Bonus Bagging Review: Easy & Risk-Free Matched Betting
During our Bonus Bagging review, we tested Mike Cruickshank's matched betting service. It shows you exactly how to make risk-free profits from bookie bonuses - it even finds them for you! We completed 16 bookie sign up offers and made £341.41 profit in just one month!

Month One Results

It was a disappointing start to our Irish Racing Tips review with a 9.59 point loss at the available odds, which worked out as a 19.2% decrease to our 50 point starting bank.

The service did manage to hit a few places and was quite unlucky with a 2nd place finish at BSP odds of 17.28. 

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets191919
Total Stakes (pts)32.0032.0032.00
Profit/Loss (pts)-10.04-9.59-4.34
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)-£100.40-£95.90-£43.40
Strike Rate26.3%26.3%31.6%
ROI-31.4%-30.0%-13.6%
Overall Bank Growth-20.1%-19.2%-8.7%
Bank (50pt starting)39.9640.4145.66

Results

DateRaceSelectionTotal StakeEW?Available OddsP/LBank
14/12/2019Fairyhouse 1.05Fight For Love1.50Yes7.005.6355.63
15/12/2019Navan 12.30Barwell1.50Yes11.00-1.5054.13
15/12/2019Navan 2.35Graineyhill2.00Yes5.00-2.0052.13
16/12/2019Naas 1.55Crack On Corrie2.00Yes4.50-2.0050.13
16/12/2019Naas 3.00Conright Boy1.50Yes4.50-0.2349.90
18/12/2019Dundalk 5.00Narynkol2.00Yes3.25-0.5549.35
20/12/2019Dundalk 5.15Will Be King2.00Yes3.75-2.0047.35
20/12/2019Dundalk 6.45Dancing On A Dream1.50Yes6.50-1.5045.85
31/12/2019Punchestown 2.50Vinabell1.50Yes10.00-1.5044.35
01/01/2020Tramore 12.35Aoibhe’s Beau1.50Yes8.50-1.5042.85
03/01/2020Dundalk 8.30Asanda1.50Yes4.50-1.5041.35
04/01/2020Cork 1.55Momus1.50Yes11.00-1.5039.85
04/01/2020Cork 3.05Minella Till Dawn2.00Yes5.004.8044.65
05/01/2020Naas 3.20Fox Le Bel1.50No3.00-1.5043.15
09/01/2020Clonmel 12.50Vitudurum1.50Yes4.00-1.5041.65
10/01/2020Thurles 3.30Montys Mission1.50Yes6.000.1941.84
10/01/2020Dundalk 7.30JM Barrie2.00Yes6.500.3842.22
11/01/2020Fairyhouse 2.10Avenir D’Une Vie1.50Yes6.000.1942.41
12/01/2020Punchestown 1.35Roxboro Road2.00Yes3.50-2.0040.41

Month Two Results

The service achieved a small profit of the 1.83 points at the available odds in month two of our review. Unfortunately, this wasn't enough to bring us up to an overall profit and we were still down by 7.76 points in total.

On a positive note, the service was showing a profit of 8.16 points overall at Betfair SP.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets171717
Total Stakes (pts)27.527.527.5
Profit/Loss (pts)1.891.8312.5
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)£18.90£18.30£125.00
Strike Rate47.1%47.1%52.9%
ROI6.9%6.7%45.4%
Overall Bank Growth-16.3%-15.5%16.3%
Bank (50pt starting)41.8542.2458.16

Results

DateRaceSelectionTotal StakeEW?Available OddsP/LBank
14/01/2020Fairyhouse 2.50Shantou Bay1.50Yes6.00-1.5038.91
15/01/2020Punchestown 1.00Saol Iontach2.00Yes7.000.5039.41
15/01/2020Punchestown 2.35Colour Me In1.50Yes7.00-1.5037.91
17/01/2020Dundalk 5.00Wide Shot2.00Yes3.753.4441.35
17/01/2020Dundalk 5.30Pak Army1.50Yes6.000.1941.54
19/01/2020Thurles 3.50Gwencily Berbas1.50Yes7.00-1.5040.04
23/01/2020Gowran Park 3.00Chef Des Obeaux1.50Yes7.00-1.5038.54
24/01/2020Dundalk 8.30Major Power2.00Yes4.504.3842.92
25/01/2020Fairyhouse 1.00Roconga1.50Yes6.00-1.5041.42
25/01/2020Fairyhouse 1.35Kayf Thou2.00Yes5.000.0041.42
28/01/2020Down Royal 3.50Aherlow1.50Yes7.000.1541.57
30/01/2020Limerick 3.40Nobel Joshua1.00Yes4.50-0.0641.51
31/01/2020Dundalk 8.30Tyrconnel1.50Yes5.00-1.5040.01
01/02/2020Leopardstown 2.00Cash Back1.50Yes6.500.2840.29
02/02/2020Leopardstown 12.55Ena Baie1.50Yes7.50-1.5038.79
06/02/2020Thurles 1.45Brog Ahaon1.50Yes5.00-0.1538.64
07/02/2020Dundalk 8.30San Andreas2.00Yes4.003.6042.24

Month Three Results

Unfortunately, it was another losing month for Irish Racing Tips at the available odds taking our total loss up to 15.76 points. However, at Betfair SP we would have made a profit of 3.85 points and overall our BSP bank had grown by 24%.

We decided to extend our review to see if the Betfair SP profits would continue to grow and also see if regular results would improve.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets242424
Total Stakes (pts)41.0041.0041.00
Profit/Loss (pts)-8.09-8.003.85
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)-£80.90-£80.00£38.50
Strike Rate37.5%37.5%37.5%
ROI-19.7%-19.5%9.4%
Overall Bank Growth-32.5%-31.5%24.0%
Bank (50pt starting)33.7634.2462.00

Results

DateRaceSelectionTotal StakeEW?Available OddsP/LBank
14/02/2020Dundalk 5.00Anythingyouwantobe2.00Yes5.00-0.2042.04
15/02/2020Gowran Park 2.19Miss Cognac1.50Yes8.000.5642.60
16/02/2020Navan 2.55Dinard Rose1.50Yes7.00-1.5041.10
18/02/2020Punchestown 2.45Augusta Gold1.50Yes13.001.5042.60
19/02/2020Punchestown 3.15Argumental1.50Yes11.00-1.5041.10
20/02/2020Thurles 2.25Kitten Rock1.50Yes11.000.7541.85
21/02/2020Dundalk 8.30Empire State2.00Yes6.50-2.0039.85
21/02/2020Dundalk 7.00Ubume1.50Yes4.00-1.5038.35
22/02/2020Fairyhouse 2.52Halsafari1.50Yes4.50-1.5036.85
23/02/2020Naas 2.40Mormon1.50Yes7.50-1.5035.35
23/02/2020Naas 4.40Goodbye Someday2.00Yes5.500.1335.48
28/02/2020Dundalk 5.00Morph Speed2.00Yes5.00-2.0033.48
01/03/2020Leopardstown 3.35Fauguernon2.00Yes9.00-2.0031.48
01/03/2020Leopardstown 4.40Moonshine Bay1.50Yes9.50-1.5029.98
02/03/2020Leopardstown 1.15Knockraha Boss1.50Yes7.500.4730.45
02/03/2020Leopardstown 2.20Nicole’s Milan2.00Yes8.00-2.0028.45
03/03/2020Navan 4.40Mr Diablo2.00Yes6.50-2.0026.45
04/03/2020Clonmel 5.05Whoyakodding1.50Yes12.00-1.5024.95
05/03/2020Thurles 3.50Mattie’s Mountain1.50Yes9.500.8425.79
06/03/2020Dundalk 6.45Ragtime Red1.50Yes8.000.5626.35
06/03/2020Dundalk 8.45Lightning Charlie2.00Yes9.0010.0036.35
07/03/2020Gowran Park 3.25Deal With It1.50Yes6.000.1936.54
07/03/2020Gowran Park 4.00Diamond Turf2.00Yes4.50-0.3036.24
13/03/2020Dundalk 6.15Moving Forward2.00Yes4.50-2.0034.24

Month Four Results

After having decided to extend our review for a fourth month, the results turned out to be the worst of the bunch!

We lost 19.67 points, which brought our total loss up to 35.43 points. Despite BSP results performing better in previous months, they were just as bad, losing 19.09 points in month four.

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets464646
Total Stakes (pts)61.2561.2561.25
Profit/Loss (pts)-19.02-19.67-19.09
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)-£190.20-£196.70-£190.90
Strike Rate17.40%17.40%17.40%
ROI-31.10%-32.10%-31.20%
Overall Bank Growth-70.50%-70.90%-14.20%
Bank (50pt starting)14.7414.5742.92

Results

DateRaceSelectionTotal StakeEW?Available OddsP/LBank
14/03/2020Navan 2.20Bythesametoken2.00Yes6.50-2.0032.24
17/03/2020Down Royal 2.25Plentiful1.50Yes5.00-1.5030.74
17/03/2020Wexford 3.50Scheu Time2.00Yes6.00-2.0028.74
20/03/2020Dundalk 4.30Misty At Sea1.50Yes10.00-1.5027.24
21/03/2020Thurles 4.10Dortmund Park1.50Yes7.00-1.5025.74
22/03/2020Downpatrick 2.40Severus Alexander2.00Yes6.000.0025.74
23/03/2020Naas 3.00Sendmylovetoyou1.50Yes8.00-1.5024.24
24/03/2020Clonmel 3.00Dreal Deal1.50Yes7.50-1.5022.74
11/06/2020Gowran Park 3.00Go West Young Lad0.75No8.00-0.7521.99
11/06/2020Gowran Park 4.00Mere Catherine1.00No5.50-1.0020.99
11/06/2020Gowran Park 4.30Jan Wellens1.00No4.33-1.0019.99
12/06/2020Curragh 7.15Tauran Shaman2.00Yes6.50-2.0017.99
12/06/2020Curragh 7.45Leo De Fury1.50Yes8.506.7524.74
13/06/2020Curragh 6.15Verimil1.50Yes8.00-1.5023.24
14/06/2020Leopardstown 4.45Holy Roman Empress2.00Yes8.00-2.0021.24
14/06/2020Leopardstown 5.45Dauob1.50Yes17.00-1.5019.74
15/06/2020Fairyhouse 2.35Slade Runner2.00No2.63-2.0017.74
15/06/2020Fairyhouse 3.35Politicise1.50Yes8.50-1.5016.24
15/06/2020Fairyhouse 4.35Razoul1.00No3.25-1.0015.24
17/06/2020Limerick 7.05Simsir2.00No3.25-2.0013.24
19/06/2020Gowran Park 7.15Lemista1.00No4.503.5016.74
20/06/2020Naas 4.45Gee Rex1.00No4.33-1.0015.74
20/06/2020Naas 5.15Nurse Barbara1.00No6.50-1.0014.74
20/06/2020Naas 5.45Make A Challenge2.00No2.102.2016.94
21/06/2020Leopardstown 3.10Stormy Belle1.00No9.00-1.0015.94
21/06/2020Leopardstown 4.40Landing Zone1.00No7.50-1.0014.94
22/06/2020Limerick 5.10Never Do Nothing1.50No2.50-1.5013.44
23/06/2020Navan 3.00Lady Maura1.00No4.503.5016.94
24/06/2020Roscommon 7.10Get Out The Gate1.00No5.50-1.0015.94
26/06/2020Curragh 7.15St Clerans1.00No8.00-1.0014.94
26/06/2020Tipperary 3.05Shannon Fields1.50No3.50-1.5013.44
27/06/2020Curragh 6.15Colfer Me1.00Yes13.00-1.0012.44
27/06/2020Curragh 7.15Sherpa1.00Yes9.00-1.0011.44
27/06/2020Curragh 7.45Master Of Reality1.50No3.75-1.509.94
29/06/2020Limerick 2.10Neyland1.00No6.50-1.008.94
29/06/2020Limerick 4.45Geolai1.00No8.00-1.007.94
01/07/2020Tipperary 3.00Double Windsor1.00No5.50-1.006.94
01/07/2020Leopardstown 6.30Red Kelly1.00No4.003.009.94
02/07/2020Bellewstown 4.00Sirjack Thomas1.00No5.00-1.008.94
03/07/2020Navan 7.15Baby Zeus1.00No9.00-1.007.94
04/07/2020Naas 4.40Lough Cutra1.00No4.00-1.006.94
05/07/2020Cork 3.40You’resobeautiful1.00No4.33-1.005.94
05/07/2020Cork 5.15Snow2.00No5.008.0013.94
07/07/2020Roscommon 3.30Pondus1.50No2.752.6316.57
09/07/2020Navan 3.25Taggalo1.00No3.50-1.0015.57
10/07/2020Curragh 6.15Leahman1.00No6.00-1.0014.57

Review Summary

Irish Racing Tips performed poorly throughout our review and we finished with a loss of 35.43 points overall. Using the advised 50 point starting bank, this meant we lost 71% of our bank after four months. 

There was just 1 winning month from 4 and even that was only a small profit of 1.83 points. The tips had performed better at Betfair SP, but still resulted in a loss of 7.08 points in total. 

The service had been easy to follow with a handful of tips each week on Irish racing and all tips came with a short write up which added a nice touch.

We had been impressed with Carl's other tipping services in the past, but unfortunately, it was a straight-forward "Fail" rating for this service. 

Key Stats

 Advised OddsAvailable OddsBSP (before comm.)
Number of Bets106106106
Total Stakes (pts)161.75161.75161.75
Profit/Loss (pts)-35.26-35.43-7.08
Profit/Loss (£10 stakes)-£352.60-£354.30-£70.80
Strike Rate28.3%28.3%30.2%
ROI-21.8%-21.9%-4.4%
Overall Bank Growth-70.5%-70.9%-14.2%
Bank (50pt starting)14.7414.5742.92
Review Stats35.43 points loss, -21.9% ROI, 28.3% SR
Stakes Advised between 0.75 – 2.00 point stakes
Starting bank 50 points
Average no. betsApprox. 25-30 per month
Time of emailsMorning 7.00-9.00am
Price£19.99 per month
RatingFail

Other Systems and Services which Passed

WinnerOdds Review: Value Tennis Betting Tips Software
WinnerOdds software identifies value tennis betting tips. During our three month review, we banked £766.38 profit (4.5% ROI) from a total of 448 bets, increasing our starting bank by 76.6%.
SAW Deluxe Bot Review: Automated Betting Software
SAW Deluxe is a betting bot which automates horse racing betting strategies. You can back, lay and Dutch bets in a variety of ways in races all over the world.
Winning Footy Tips Review: Profitable Football Tipster
Winning Footy Tips banked 33.01 points profit (45.8% ROI) during our review. This football tipster offers a guarantee so you can follow risk-free for 60 days.
Fantastic Eights Review: Horse Racing Tipster Service
Fantastic Eights is a horse racing tipster service which we have reviewed twice. We made 95.65pts profit the first time, then added another 341.75pts profit a couple of years later.
Banker Bets Value Picks Review: Football Betting Tips
We have been following John Baker's Banker Bets Value Picks service since the beginning of the winter football season and after witnessing 3 out of 4 profitable months, a total of profit of 17.08 points and a 42.7% increase to our bank, we are happy to award a pass rating.
Early Odds Review: Horse Racing Betting Tips
Early Odds is a value horse racing betting service which banked a profit both times we trialled the results. We highly recommend taking a look at this tipster.

  • Goal Profits Rating
  • Rated 2 stars

  • Irish Racing Tips
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: 16th July 2020

Carl Nicholson already earned "passes" in our reviews of two of his horse racing tips services . Did he make it a third with his latest one, Irish Racing Tips?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.